We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellwent Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellwent Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here with adult family from overseas and had a thoroughly wonderful time. The whole ambiance of the hotel is inviting and the gardens and pathways beautifully kept. They have a wonderful selection of Protea's hidden on a short walk past the pool area. Rooms are very specious (the largest i've stayed in for standard rooms) and have ample cupboard space. Food at the hotel excellent but we were not impressed with Moyo and unfortunately this was one of the supper's I was looking forward to. Of course the wine is good and goes without saying but at the wine tasting we found it hard to make ourselves understood and then could not understand what we were being told, but this is just a small point. All the staff were friendly and attentative and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you specifically want a patio garden room you don't need to spend extra - I can recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janettej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Janette,

Thank you for your most generous feedback on your recent stay with us. Indeed one of the most priced luxuries of our hotel are the spacious rooms available from our Signature ranges up to our suites.

Chef Lorraine was most appreciative of your positive comments on the food quality, thank you.

We have shared your feedback on the Moyo experience with their management team and will work with them to improve their experience.

We hope to have you back with us soon.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    565
    145
    50
    15
See reviews for
422
764
23
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

What an experience to stay at a well preserved heritage site ~ Spier Hotel & Wine Estate. The accommodations were beyond exciting, nothing like I was imaging; decorate in the rooms certainly added to the feeling of stepping back in time without compromising on quality or comfort. There is so much to explore on the grounds such as the bird sanctuary and beautiful gardens. We enjoyed an afternoon of wine tasting and later an evening of wine pairing with a truly scrumptious dinner. All the staff were not only professional but catered to your every need. There was an issue with the hot water as it took a much longer time to get "hot" enough for a shower, but despite that, I would definitely go back - in a heart beat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonflyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our property, sharing this with our team is a pleasure.

We are very glad to hear that you have been able to enjoy so many of our activities available on the farm.

We realised from your feedback that we had experienced a technical fault on the geyser in your block and have attended to this.

Looking forward to see you return to Spier soonest!

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a beautiful wine estate, comprising an accommodation village with charming rooms, a couple of restaurants on site (the in-hotel dining experience was excellent), Eagle Encounters - a sanctuary for birds of prey - well worth the visit - as well as wine tasting, organic food market, a lovely park to connect all of these etc... Can easily spend two full days there without getting bored and without heading into town.
One drawback during our stay: a large group of SA yuppies (sorry!) stayed there for a conference - they were very boisterous and noisy till dawn, which didn't contribute to a great nights sleep - I guess nothing the hotel really could do about it, but it does disturb the wonderful peacefulness of the place. Hopefully it was a one-off...

Room Tip: Try avoiding large conferences - one of the nights we were there, there was a lot of noise til about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Cindy,

First of all thank you very much for your most kind review on your recent stay at Spier.

It is very pleasing to hear that you have been able to fully experience Spier and all its activities, indeed a two day stay is probably needed to enjoy them all!

We have taken note of your comment on the noise from other guests and are designing social signage for our courtyards to create more awareness amongst our guests. Our night managers are also available throughout the night to address any of these concerns if these rare occurrences do happen.

We hope to be able to welcome you back upon your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We should have taken heed of the negative reviews on trip advisor. This is not a 4 star hotel......it took 40 minutes to check in, only to be told our room would not be ready for another half hour. A much anticipated shower before dinner was not possible because we had no hot water in either of our two rooms. A maintenance man was dispatched to investigate and we were told that he had just changed the element in the water cylinder and we should have hot water within an hour. After a mediocre dinner, still no hot water. Another phone call ..... No apology or offer to switch rooms .
Still no hot water the next morning! So after cold showers, we were off to the airport. What a bad ending to our stay in the Cape.
In our view we should have immediately, on checkout, been given a full refund for both our rooms, not an offer for a discounted stay in the future, nor R500 refund plus 12 bottles of their cheapest wine which was offered after we left. (Incidentally we would have had to pay import duty on the wine)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwitravellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Its a bit spread out but theres so much to do from flying birds of prey to wine tasting , skagway bikes , and the gardens are very nice , plus its seeped in history as it goes back to 1632 ,the accomodation was very good ,so was the pool and food , would we go again (YES)

Room Tip: The main rooms are in a small sort of village along the hotel , which are two storey affairs with go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLCHESTER, ESSEX, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while in the winelands 2 weeks ago. Having had 2 nights in Franschhoek we booked another 2 nights here. Even better than on the website. The standard rooms are massive, we had tried to upgrade to a suite, but when we saw the size of the room and how little time we were actually going to spend in it we realised it wasn't necessary. Lovely covered outside area on ground floor rooms. Slept like a baby.

The main hotel area is even nicer than it looks on the website. Lovely buffet breakfast, really friendly staff.

Had dinner one night at Moyo. Great atmosphere (go at night rather than during the day) Unfortunately the buffet was pretty poor. When you are in the winelands surrounded by fantastic food it needs to be better than this.

Loved the golf buggy transport around the complex , when it's high 30's don't think it's being to lazy.

Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had a river facing room at the rear, which was lovely, the internal courtyard facing rooms are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I wanted to stay a night or two ... and now I am thinking about staying a week .... great place, professional, helpful and nice staff at reception and in the restaurant, excellent food and wine, so no place for those on a diet. The rooms are spacious. Good philosophy of using local products whenever possible. Great place, highly recommended by somebody who has travelled a lot. Franziska, Switzerland

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing