We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy rooms”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“cozy rooms”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Such a cozy feel in these rooms. Large. Large bath with huge tub that would fit two. Did not try out the gas fireplace. The weather was not really fitting.

The common area seems mis-matched as it has a very contempo vibe. Doesn't really affect anything, but it was noticed.

Ordered off the ala carte menu. Food was good. Our tour group had a special buffet arranged and that was the bomb!(wonderful) I wanted some of the dessert for breakfast!
Best dessert I have had in quite some time.
Breakfasts were first class.

Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    581
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
440
794
24
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Isles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having visited the Spier estate in the past, but never the hotel, we had high expectations when we booked to stay for two nights in the hotel. Sadly the service was poor and let the whole experience down. We asked for pool towels which never arrived, and we gave up waiting. My husband and I both ordered soup on the first night in the restaurant. It took an hour and a half for my husband's soup to arrive. In order to get mine my husband had to walk from one area of the restaurant to another to point out mine hadn't arrived. By the time it arrived we asked for my husband's soup to be reheated. By the time this appeared mine was ready to be warmed up again.... No - we didn't dare, I ate it luke warm!!

The following evening we went to Moyo. We had had a lovely experience here in Jan 2009 but again sadly this time the service and attention was severely lacking. We were not offered the hand washing experience at any time during the evening. A salad starter was brought to us as soon as we sat down, encouraging us to start eating more or less immediately. The face painting didn't happen until halfway through our main meal. There was every little entertainment during the whole of the time we were there.

The staff seem to be going through (some of) the motions rather than making it an experience as it was a few years ago.

Our bedrooms were okay, not as good as we'd expected, but we should have known better as there are no (?) photos of the inside of the rooms on their website. The shower also needed a good scrub.

On the positive side, we did the Segway tour, a first for us all and thoroughly enjoyed it. The guys were patient and spent quite a while making sure we knew what we were doing and were comfortable before heading "off road".

Given the quality and service we have experienced in many other places in South Africa, Spier was a huge disappointment. We will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I came here for a conference over three days and was happy with the overall experience. My room was massive especially for one person with two kingsize beds, the bathrooms were huge, and the terrace + private dipping pool was a great surprise! The breakfast was definitely one of the best I have had in a while - a huge selection of hot and cold food with pretty much anything you could want. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but sometimes service was a little slow. I came back one afternoon around 5 and my room was still not made up and had to call twice to get somebody to help with this. There were also no adapters when I arrived which was a bit frustrating as it was an international conference I would expect them to be prepared for this. Overall it was a good experience, and I would return if staying in Stellenbosch again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J1707L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I love Spier - it has the most amazing bar, the decor is fresh and contemporary while retaining an African feel. The rooms are huge, comfortable and again the decor is lovely.

The only slight downside about Spier is the food in the hotel is ok but not brilliant. However, Stellenbosch is not far away and definitely worth a visit for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Carroll14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We've just returned from 13 nights in Spier which was just awesome. Firstly the venue is great, the hotel is smart, relaxed and contempary. Great variety of places to eat and drink, and all very reasonably priced. We had adjoining lower floor chalet rooms which were spacious, clean, large and very comfortable. The little grassed courtyard complete with Ground Hornbills feeding, pygmy cape chameleons and a a splash pool was a real bonus. Food quality excellent, wine quality stellar but what makes the place for me is the staff. Lincon, the bar man a star, Wiseman and the attentative breakfast team always made sure the day started perfectly (with a capuccino) and the reception team including Lebo and Tashwin accommodated every request. I cannot reccommend this place highly enough and I had teh most relaxing visit I've ever had to the cape, which I visited frequentlt over the last 10 years. Thanks to all at Spier. (ps the segway tours are a real hoot)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent the Easter weekend at Spier and I must say I never expected that the staff could've improved on their customer service but they have,they have surpassed our expectations,gone beyond what was expected and everything they had planned for the weekend was amazing,from the Easter egg hunt to the visit to the egg farm and the food hunt we loved every minute of it,and are already to reserve our places for next year. We will be back again soon...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneMesias_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I came over the weekend with a vegan friend and we were greeted by friendly, smiling staff at the reception desk who quickly whisked us to our hotel room which was lovely, and clean, and comfortable. Throughout the weekend we had efficient service from housekeeping; and the chef created the most amazing vegan breakfasts and dinners for my friend, and were only happy to give insights into how the food was created - this is pretty refreshing for a vegan travelling as some places are not that willing to accommodate, or deliver very basic meals. Eight Restaurant was also staffed by some great people - the harvest table is a good idea with tons of top quality choice. You must try the flourless chocolate cake!! The Hotel is also child friendly which was good for us, with a staffed play area, outside 'jungle gym's' and swimming pools. And finally, beautiful and recyclable artworks and furnishings make the place really interesting to discover. Thoroughly enjoyable, I wish the Hotel staff all the best!

Room Tip: Low ground floors have access to their own patio and pool areas which is useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear PatriciaIM

Thank you for the wonderful comments, I have sent these through to the team who were involved in delivering such a special experience.

Spier has a wonderfully creative culinary team lead by the diva of delicious Lorianne Heyns, who pride themselves on been able to cater to all dietary requirements. We understand that in this world one size does not fit all and this applies to our ability to cater for everyone when it comes to food. All too often even the delivery of the most basic vegetarian meal leaves a lot to be desired. The team is passionate about food and guest satisfaction.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing