We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“December holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were at Spier for 3 nights, it was amazing! The staff were brilliant. The accommodation was fantastic, really luxuary. There were small pools for each block as well as a main pool.The food was amazing and there was so much to do at the resort that you did not need to leave. But it is very well located if you want to drive around the area to other wine farms.
We ate at Moyo one night, it's an amazing experience.
If you want to do a Segway tour remember to book in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the swimming pool blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drunen911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    554
    143
    49
    15
See reviews for
400
743
23
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had a great 2 weeks at the spier hotel, Food was good, wine was excellent, and the staff in the restaurants and in the bar where fantastic.Lovely grounds and pool area,s and rooms very nice and clean.Was also good to have the African restaurant chain Moya in the grounds..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deface66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had to admit after reading the reviews I was a bit aprehensive about staying at this hotel, but I only have positive comments and had a fantastic stay here. We visited in December as a family of four and were booked into a four bed villa. The rooms were lovely and spacious with the ensuite having a lounge, dining area, kitchenette, these lower floor rooms opened onto a large private garden, with comfy cushion seating on the patio. Breakfast is delicious, with an extensive hot and cold buffet including home made muffins, fruit and seed bread, cream cheese and platters of smoked salmon.

Do book one of the excellent picnics, offered by the onsite restaurant 8 to go, they are amazing full of yummy fresh produce and great value delivered to you in a wicker basket so you can enjoy in the grounds.

Staff are very helpful and by only complaint would be to improve the wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJB2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the spier hotel in the first weekend in January. The room was truly amazing so much space, plus our room was at the courtyard pool and the room and a coffee machine with nice coffee. It was a real relaxing experience which I could have stayed longer then one night. Breakfast was also good and had enough variety.
Service was good, would definitely recommend even for families, will take my kids with next time.
We went to the spa was not to impress with the massage felt more like a oiling session and did not feel worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

To start, if you are thinking this is a lovely wine farm hotel, nestled into the vineyard surrounded by nature, you are mistaken. the hotel is situated on a 100 kph roadway, separated by a hedge that does little to break any noise. you will hear from your room the whoosh of passing cars at all times of the day as well as the whistle of the passing commuter train.

to step back, we decided to finish a four day trip to cape town to celebrate our engagement with one night in Stellenbosch. I chose Spier based on a eighteen month old review on another site (my error), thinking it would be a great finish before flying out.

we had a great day and checked in just after five o'clock. service was fine on check-in although I did have to go back for the internet password (although only 100mb at a time, which can go really fast! ) We had paid $200 USD so really we were taken a back with the room. as other reviewers have written, the rooms are spacious but the are also dated. the towels in the room were thin , greying and some were coming apart at the ends and edge. the tv cabinet had half of the door that was off a hinge - I went to open it fully and it came completely off the one remaining hinge. we were surprise by the lower quality but keeping with the great day, we went to dinner at the on site a la carte restaurant to finish on a good note.

if you came to out of a coma while seated in the dining room, you would have absolutely no idea you were dining at a famous wine farm! there wasn't a single wine barrel or cork collection or painting of a vineyard or photo of award winning vintage. even worse if you picked up a menu, there were no pairings with the estate wines, no sauce, condiment, glaze or reduction was made from any of the estates wines. shocking when such an incredible resource is just at hand.

dinner was worse than the room. save you the long story but the calamari was off and had to go back (i'm a papered Chef and it was off although the manager and chef disagreed) , duck rilette was just confit (there's a difference! ), crusted trout had no crust, sparkling water was still. the bill took 30 minutes and came including the calamari. it was taken off but took another 15 minutes to get that done.

we did stop to speak with night manager, who offered to move us to another room, which we declined due to the time of night and that we were leaving early in the morning. in the end I asked to be credited for the dinner (R420), which was agreed upon. aside from that, no other communication was made by hotel or attempt to resolve situation.

this is an overpriced and under amenitied hotel. if you need a place to stay overnight, mid travels then fine. if you're looking for something romantic or relatively peaceful, keep going.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
191 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Returned after staying here 6 years ago.

Spier is well located in the heart of beautiful wine country and close to the wonderful town of Stellenbosch. This hotel offers comfortable accommodations on a large property. Every 16 rooms shares a small pool which is a nice touch. There is a larger pool available for everyone if desired.

Breakfast is enjoyable with friendly service.

Spent New Years Eve at Moya which I consider way overated with below average food. You can do far better at many of the wineries in the area and restaurants in Stellenbosch and Franchoek.

Next visit I would choose a smaller winery with more personalized service but Spier is still a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokalosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited Spier as part of our December holiday. We've stopped counting how many times we've stayed here, and although we have had some hiccups in the past, the overall experience is always good. We booked interleading rooms facing the jungle gym, as we have a toddler, and this worked really well. We could watch our daughter play on the jungle gym while we sipped wine on our verandah. The staff was very attentive and remembered us from previous visits. Activities are planned for the kids in busier periods, so we had some time to drink wine and read on the hotel's patio while my daughter drew pictures and coloured in with the child minders. We visited Eight - which is a "Farm to table" restaurant on the property. It was our second time at Eight and the food was really good, although a bit busy for my liking. The staff seemed to have had a refresher course since our previous visits in November 2012 and April 2012 and we could really not complain about a thing. Thanks Spier, we hope to be back in April 2013.

Room Tip: You really need to think of your requirements when booking a room. The family rooms are on the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koala1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.6 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing