We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place & people, BUT Service SUCKS”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place & people, BUT Service SUCKS”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent 7 days at Spier for a conference. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The folks there are lovely people, but the consistency of service is lacking. I can recall the first meal I had on arrival where the waitress obviously forgot we were there. I had to flag someone to get a bill! Hen at the bar in the evenings the bartenders appeared to not be able to service folks promptly. Hike it is wine country, a REAL bartender should be a mixologist and capable of making cocktails and other mixed drinks can't tell you how many times we to the deer in the headlights look. I think the problem is that they are multi tasking without crash training. The guy who took my bags in was the bartender one night. Lucky at the front desk was a gem. But it is clear communications don't flow well. I reported a side window which could not close since my arrival, it was never fixed so energy was wasted in heating the room due to this. We had issues at check out where we were approved for a later time but that either wasn't in the computer, just lip service or the other person ignored it. Then they tried to charge us directly for the rooms after it was clear we were with the conference. They just need to start over with training it is totally not together.

They have shuttles into town and do not allow in taxis but what you aren't told up front is that the shuttle is not free. There are no published rates so you might get any price and just not be sure if you are being taken advantage of or not.

The grounds are awesome 8 to Go restaurant is awesome. All the food there is good, the facility is nice, they just need to get their act together on the staffing side of things. To entertain travelers from around the world,I expected the staff to be more intone to that and more naturally open to conversation and quite frankly more attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvsDaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback on the guest experience after your recent stay at the Spier Hotel. I have been through your comments with the different department heads for the necessary corrective action to be taken. While we pride ourselves on training and development of our staff, we also acknowledge that things do go wrong from time to time. Please accept my apologies for these service defects, and rest assured I have addressed all of them.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    587
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
451
802
24
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Spier is a great facility with all kinds of activities and is on a beautiful site and grounds. The only thing holding it back is organization. The picnic from 8 To Go is not to be misse but do not be surprised if they are not ready for you when they commit your basket will be ready. The website was not clear on how far in advance you should book a picnic and once we arrived we were told the only way to book it was on line. Very confusing, however the food in the basket was absolutely unbelievably good. One basket for two is enough food for four adults! The Stellenbosh region is an absolute must!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlcwacjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here as part of a wedding party. The wedding was at another hotel and most guests stayed for two nights. The reception satff had to check in about 60 guests, all non residents and they did a great job. The staff managed to sort out the luggage for 60+ guests and take all the guests to their rooms with a smile. The restuarant was superb and the breakfast very fresh and substantial. The restuarant staff were vey friendly and went out of their way to accommodate such a big party with many demands as a lot of us were vegetarians and we had to leave togethar on a coach to attend the wedding.The grounds and the swimming area was very decent and overall experience very good. We would have loved to stay a bit longer but they were fully booked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KishorHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel rooms are separate from the lobby and restaurant, and arranged in a cluster approach. The rooms are large with a mini bar, aircon and TV, and are stocked with the lovely 'Beautiful Earth" product range. The rooms are comfortable but do need a refurb and refresh. The top floor room windows do not open although the doors onto a small (very small) balcony. The ground floor apartments open onto a garden with pool shared with 4 other units. The room clusters are away from the main building but none of the pathways are not well lit, so beware.

The food is delicious and the on site restaurants are a pleasure and a delight for travellers. Their conferencing facilities are well catered for and magnificent setting! The gardens are wonderful for day visitors with on site picnics available, however the prices are on the very high side.

They have an arrangement of onsite activities. I brought my own bike and cycles for the 2 days I was there - they could have better mountain bike trails marked, as the roads busy, interlinking the surrounding towns.

Overall it is a must see experience for travellers, wonderful tranquil experience for day visitors for picnics and wine tasters, but the hotel could do with a refresh, refurb in places and spruce up the space where the cheetah's used to be (the sanctuary s no longer there and the space is left to ruin).

Overall I would recommend for it's space, tranquillity and beautiful surrounds; a 'must do' experience, but only just holding onto it's 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback – we greatly appreciate the input. You’ll be pleased to know that we are in the process of updating our hotel rooms, and this will be complete over the next few months.

The cheetahs moved out in May this year, and we need the ground to lay fallow for some time before we do anything new there. I hope you will come back to Spier in the coming months and let us know what you think of the changes and updates!

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Spier Winery Hotel in September 2012 for three nights and very much enjoyed our stay! We ate of Moyo's (onsite) the first night, where we had serenaded, listened to traditional drum performances and had our faces painted. There was a wide variety of food on the buffet. Buffet cost was 250 Rand.

We also ate at the hotel restaurant two nights and had great meals at very reasonable prices. The service was very good as well. Our stay included a full buffet breakfast each morning, which was good. We also found a tasty Spier Winery 21 Gables wine that we enjoyed.

We were in standard hotel rooms that were roomy and fine for a few nights stay. If you are use to nice US hotels, you may be a little disappointed in a standard room. The shower was great and had plenty of water pressure. We did feel very safe while strolling the beautiful grounds. There was also a friendly resident cat to love on and he was very willing to crawl up in your lap to get loved on. :-)

If we are ever in the Stellenbosch area (outside of Cape Town) again - we would stay at Spier.

The only issue we had was at check-out where the hotel clerk wanted us to write the credit card number on a piece of paper for him and sign the piece of paper saying we would pay. It took some work, but they were finally able to produce a normal credit card receipt to sign and the charges on the credit card bill were correct.

Room Tip: I would choose a room other than the standard room if you are use to nice US hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for one night with our 22 month old at the end of our S Africa trip. Our room was huge, with a gas fire, spacious bathroom and patio doors opening onto a shared outside space with a small pool. The bed was very comfortable and a lovely travel cot was provided for our daughter. The communal areas of the hotel were stylishly decorated with contemporary art work and there was ample cosy seating in front of log fires.

Breakfast was good with a varied selection of hot and cold foods. A high chair was available for our daughter. The only downside to our entire stay was a bird that had got in and landed on the cold buffet selection. We alerted the staff but noticed there were actually two birds inside when we left. There was also an inexplicable lack of napkins.

The best thing about our stay was the staff who were all friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure our comfort. We are particularly grateful to TASHWIN who epitomised what good customer service should be: we received a very warm welcome on arrival and appreciated the transfer by golf cart (as did our daughter!). He also made a room available for showering the next day before we left for our overnight flight home.

We enjoyed the wine tasting and walking around the estate and felt our holiday ended on a really high note rather than just passing time until leaving for the airport. We definitely would recommend this hotel especially if arriving or departing from Cape Town by air.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The is hotel has its own vineyards. Our bedroom was of a very high standard. The bed linen and duvet and pillows were very comfortable and of good quality. The bedroom was large with a fire. The fire was lit for us in the evening as it was a little cool. The service and food at the hotel was excellent. We had dinner there and there was a good choice of food and of course wine. A cooked breakfast and a cold buffet was delicious. The hotel has large areas to sit in, but very comfortable and homely and log fires burning.
One very small minus is that the last wine tour was at 4 or 4.30pm and we missed that because we drove into the town of Stellenbosch. Given the choice I would rather have done the tour, but this did not change the overall impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing