We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay before our overnight flight home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spier Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place to stay before our overnight flight home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for one night with our 22 month old at the end of our S Africa trip. Our room was huge, with a gas fire, spacious bathroom and patio doors opening onto a shared outside space with a small pool. The bed was very comfortable and a lovely travel cot was provided for our daughter. The communal areas of the hotel were stylishly decorated with contemporary art work and there was ample cosy seating in front of log fires.

Breakfast was good with a varied selection of hot and cold foods. A high chair was available for our daughter. The only downside to our entire stay was a bird that had got in and landed on the cold buffet selection. We alerted the staff but noticed there were actually two birds inside when we left. There was also an inexplicable lack of napkins.

The best thing about our stay was the staff who were all friendly and helpful and went out of their way to ensure our comfort. We are particularly grateful to TASHWIN who epitomised what good customer service should be: we received a very warm welcome on arrival and appreciated the transfer by golf cart (as did our daughter!). He also made a room available for showering the next day before we left for our overnight flight home.

We enjoyed the wine tasting and walking around the estate and felt our holiday ended on a really high note rather than just passing time until leaving for the airport. We definitely would recommend this hotel especially if arriving or departing from Cape Town by air.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    554
    143
    49
    15
See reviews for
400
743
23
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The is hotel has its own vineyards. Our bedroom was of a very high standard. The bed linen and duvet and pillows were very comfortable and of good quality. The bedroom was large with a fire. The fire was lit for us in the evening as it was a little cool. The service and food at the hotel was excellent. We had dinner there and there was a good choice of food and of course wine. A cooked breakfast and a cold buffet was delicious. The hotel has large areas to sit in, but very comfortable and homely and log fires burning.
One very small minus is that the last wine tour was at 4 or 4.30pm and we missed that because we drove into the town of Stellenbosch. Given the choice I would rather have done the tour, but this did not change the overall impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tutles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here in August during a freak wind & rainstorm. The staff remained cheerful and accommodating despite the weather that resulted in wind-driven rain causing a pool on the floor next to one of the windows in our room. We were promptly moved to another room and the fireplace had us dried out and comfy in short order. The rooms are generously sized with polished painted concrete floors. The hotel is a short drive outside of Stellenbosch town, too far to walk, but the large property offers a variety of things to do/see. The grounds are well-kept and there are walkways/trails that offer pretty views of the creek that wanders through the property. The hotel clearly can and does handle large groups/meetings. The African-themed restaurant Moyo is on the property. The non-profit wildlife outreach program called Eagle Encounters is on the property as well and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BA_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in August. The rooms are very large and comfortable. I had a ground floor room which shared an outdoor area with other rooms on the same level. Outdoor furniture is available and a swimming pool (as I stayed in winter the pool was covered over). The bathroom was also spacious with a seperate tub and shower. Tea and coffee making facilites and fridge was also in the room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and well maintained.
My room was well set back off the road, however at night I still heard the road traffic which was fairly constant. I also heard the guests upstairs walking and moving around.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely, so take the time to have a good walk around and appreciate your surroundings. We also had a very enjoyable wine tasting and enjoyed the pinotage very much.
I found all the staff I had contact with to be very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room set back off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for 1 night after attending a party at Moyo. The rooms are well appointed and large, but can be noisy as one hears everything one's upstairs neighbour does. The service could do with a bit of a shake-up as we found everything a bit on the slow-side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BradMehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Spier and for the review on TripAdvisor. I apologise if you found the service slow and have passed your comments on to the managers of the different departments for discussion and action with the teams.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Visited Spier to attend a conference and stayed for 4 nights. My experience was very positive, the rooms are really spacious and clean and ideal for a couple or family visit. Though I visited during the winter and it was quite cold outside they had a nice fireplace in the rooms to keep you warm. Breakfast was ok but not spectacular, but they had a fair amount of variety. they Hotel staff for the most part were very friendly and always willing to take me to my room at the far end of the complex by golf car. My main complaint was the cost of internet service at the hotel which is rather exorbitant for a rather slow and unimpressive internet access. Other than this i'll recommend the hotel especially if you're visiting in the summertime.

Room Tip: Go for rooms closer to the hotel reception to avoid a rather long commute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djlenzyd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for positive report on Spier Hotel, and I hope you had a successful conference. With reference to the internet service the hotel offers wireless internet services in the rooms with 100 megs of data free per day. There is a charge applicable thereafter. I have however requested that the IT department check on our system to establish why there were speed issues during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel for your summer vacation.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We staid for 2 nights. We had a beautiful room with a nice view. The people were very kind and helpfull. Dinner was great. The eagle encounter was a nice experience, children loved it. It was really quit but we were there in the winter and I think it is low season then.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamVanLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.6 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing