We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay with plenty to do.”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay with plenty to do.”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My favourite thing about this hotel was the beautful modern public areas - the lobby leads into a spacious lounge and then a big bar area with more seating and big TV (popular for the Rugby final while we were there) and then to the restaurant. Folding doors mean that these areas also connect seamlessly with the garden where there is more seating and sunshades . Not only is the decor very attractive but a variety of colouful and interesting art is displayed on the walls and in the form of ceramics etc.
The food in the restaurant was good, breakfasts were also good. However service could be bit slow. One lunchtime we waited a long time just for a lamb burger, and when it arrived we were informed that the burgers had run out so they had served us rump steak instead! (no extra cost). We visited the Moyo African restaurant one night. Unlike other people who have reviewed it, we liked the food there very much and enjoyed the live music and dance on Saturday night. Although the gardens at Spier are lovely, the rooms have not been built to take advantage of views over them or the surrounding countryside, which is a shame. The room we had was very spacious with big comfortable bed, but the armchairs were not comfortable and the mini-bar fridge was very noisy at night. Apart from the slowness in the restaurant, we found the service friendly, polite and helpful. We enjoyed visiting the winery (more art in the old manor house) and the cheetah outreach place and had a lovely walk around the estate. Sadly the weather was not warm enough to go in the pool or to eat outside much. However I did enjoy a massage at the spa! We got a very good deal for our 3 nights B&B, which I booked 2 or 3 weeks in advance and was non-refundable, but I was happy to take the risk at the price offered. The most dispappointing thing about Spier is its position close to a main road, which is noisy but this is only noticeable when you are walking round the estate - we certainly couldn't hear it in our room and it was not one of the furthest from the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room -these will have the best views and are furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    579
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
435
784
23
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Fabulous setting. Spacious clean room with small patio and two chairs to sit and enjoy the sunshine. Swimming pool around rooms more like a plunge pool and water was cool at this time of the year. Staff friendly and anxious to help.

Food good but service in kitchen seems a bit slow. Since I was with a party of 10 the delay was not too annoying but if I had been eating alone I might have been more unhappy.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are far from the main lodge but the lower numbers in each set (201, 301, 401 etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed at Spier for a congress mid October 2011.
Nice spacious room with fireplace and patio with view of the river.
Reasonable breakfast.
Service very slow and bordering on poor.
Moyo for lunch/ dinner - interesting setting, buffet food not great.
The conference centre staff/ service was worse than poor! Lazy, disinterested and rude! If they are employed by Spier, the hotel management should really look into this. Would not choose this a a congress venue ever again.
I think there are far better places to stay in the Cape Winelands. Would not recommend Spier to overseas visitors. Try Franschook instead - some exclusive winefarm accommodation, fantastic restaurants, art galleries and boutiques.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live4Luv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We came back from Spier yesterday and it was such a breath of fresh air. We traveled to Stellenbosch for a wedding and decided not to stay with the bridal party. When we found such a good deal on Spier, we thought it was a really good idea. Man, we were blown away!

We arrived on Friday night at about 7:30pm, despite the tour bus that arrived ahead of us. Checking in took a whole 5minutes. And we were escorted to our room, it was very spacious and very simply decorated. We arrived in Moyo for dinner with the bridal party in no time.

Breakfast the next day was amazing! It had all our favourite things from cheese to fresh fruits to bacon & eggs. The cappuccinos were R10 and they were amazing, try it!

We spent the Saturday roaming around the estate, spa treatment & wine tatsing, had lunch at Eight and went off to the wedding in the afternoon. When we got back from the wedding at 2am, my husband was craving some crisps and we found some very helpful night staff who managed to find us some crisps and nuts.

The staff at Spier is helpful and always full of smiles. You don't get directed anywhere without being escorted. The cheetah and eagle projects on sight was very affordable and informative. It is a true weekend getaway spot where you don't need to worry about getting anywhere. The setting is perfect and it is a great way to get away from the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Spier 19th sep 11 till 22nd sep. Was not happy with 1st room offered but they upgraded to a slightly better room free of charge. The Cheetah sanctuary and bird sanctuary are well worth visiting and very educational. We viewed the vineyards on the segway bike and it was hilarious and a great way to get around the vast vineyards. Also you may need a hire car as getting out to other vineyards and towns is very sewn up with the excursion desk and is costly.Moyo , the buffet venue was very overrated and would be nicer in the summer months and not confined to vast marquee.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyS377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We visited the wine estate here and decided to stay after checking out the rooms. We anticipated a very corporate, charmless experience due to the size of the operation, but very pleasantly surprised to find a large, well-designed room with a welcome gas flame fire. We were too tired for the restaurant so ordered room service, which was very prompt and also pretty good value. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant also excellent, with a wide choice and good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We would like to thank you sincerely for posting a review about your recent visit to Spier on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We greatly appreciate your compliments about the size and design of our rooms and the excellent service delivered by our Room Service department.

We look forward to hosting you again at Spier.

Warm regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Spier used to be in the countryside but there has been so much development in the area it now feels like the suburbs. The grounds are still lovely and once you are in the hotel, if you ignore the sounds of the road and the occasional train, it can still feel rural. The areas of the hotel facing the river and the mountains look out over fields and are quite peaceful. The rooms are huge and pleasant, the fireplace is nice and beds comfortable. The bathroom is large with a nice tub but mine has mould growing on the ceiling. Definately go for an upstairs room or you will hear your neighbour clip-clopping around above you all night. The food was ok but not great but the service staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The resort as a whole feels bit like a winelands amusement park with lots of things to do to distract you from the otherwise rather mediocre country experience. Next time I want to get out of Cape Town I'll go a bit further.

Room Tip: Upstairs as close to the river as possible to get away from road and train and neighbour noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spier2011, Guest Relations Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We sincerely thank you for commenting about your visit to Spier on the Trip Advisor. We are particularly pleased at your compliments regarding our grounds, the rural feel of the estate, the natural views, the size and design of our rooms and service excellence. We would be delighted to accommodate you again at the Spier Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing