We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Schoon de Companje

Schoon de Companje
Ranked #3 of 6 Nightlife in Stellenbosch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We popped in one afternoon. I must agree with a previous review that front of house service needs attention. We stood around waiting to be seated. Although there were quite a few staff members present no one bothered to address us. We felt ignored. After a waitress eventually took us to a table she did not explain how the menu works. We overheard the people next to us commenting that there are different menus depending on the time of day. Whether it is true I can't tell. The only food that was available was pizza. The quality of the pizza and the spritzer was very good. The place has got a nice rustic charm about it.

Thank Hctal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Companje, Public Relations Manager at Schoon de Companje, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the pizza. Apologies regarding the front of house service, we were short front of house staff for a period but this has been rectified so hopefully you will not endure that experience again. Regarding the menus, we do indeed have three different menus depending on the time of day. They are as follows:

Breakfast Menu: Served until 11:45am
Lunch Menu: Served from 11:45am until 14:45pm
De Brasserij Menu (Pizza): Served from 14:45pm until 6pm

The reason for this is that we are not open for dinner and therefore only have one shift for kitchen staff. This means we are unable to run a full kitchen in the afternoon due to labour hour regulations. However, instead of stopping serving food altogether at 3pm we have decided to serve pizzas which require less staff (shift work) and ensure our customers can enjoy a late afternoon meal. This system has served us very well thus far and we are sure it will continue to do so.

We hope to see you again soon,
The Schoon de Companje Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I love this place but the service needs attention. I want to firstly say that no one was rude but the friendly efficient service that we got the first two times was missing this visit.
Still recommend this eatery but hope that management can sort out front of house.

Thank Cagrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Companje, Public Relations Manager at Schoon de Companje, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We aim to ensure our service is efficient and always given with a smile so we apologise for your recent experience. Your review has been noted and followed up on internally. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

*One of the best Cappuccino's I've ever had in Stellenbosch.
*Village market/Colonial feeling inside
*Food is great, authentic and fresh.
*You can see the bakers and butchers working with your food behind the counter.
*Drinks are creative and tasty, stick with cappuccino's and basic espresso's as the hot chocolate has the texture of nutella mousse so keep in mind things can be very sweet.
*A hamburger is R100 so it is a bit pricey if you're on a budget.
*Did I say great Cappucino's!

Thank Biscuit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Companje, Public Relations Manager at Schoon de Companje, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you so much for your support and review. I'm sure we'll see you again soon for a cappuccino and, keep in mind, if you come after 3pm we serve pizzas at R55-00.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Service was very slow, granted it was busy, but drinks dont arrive 5 minutes after food and the drink order was wrong. My real hot chocolaye was cold and the chocolate was regulat cooking chocolate.

Food was nice. But bread and a few pastes and oil is a bit pricey. We weren't the only ones having a bad experience as I noticed the table next to us complaining about their service.

I might come again. If there is no other tables as the service gets a 0.

Thank DBZietsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De_Companje, Public Relations Manager at Schoon de Companje, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

We are sorry the hear about your recent experience here at Schoon De Companje. Your feedback has been noted and will be followed up on internally. We are an incredibly busy establishment and, having been open for less than a year, we still experience the odd hiccup. We strive for excellence and will hopefully get to prove that to you upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Consistently great food and coffee, freshly baked bread, freshly squeezed juices - this has rapidly become a 'must do' brunch institution in Stellenbosch. The expanded premises mixes shanty zinc iron with recycled wood and vintage prints for an eclectic cosiness that welcomes all. Highly recommended, but avoid the queues on a weekend morning - sneak in off-peak in the week for smooth cappuccino with the charming barristas.

Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoon de Companje also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Koelenhof, Stellenbosch
 

Been to Schoon de Companje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing