We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Time!”

House of J.C. Le Roux
Ranked #14 of 143 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of JC Le Roux was South Africa's first cellar dedicated entirely to the craft of making fun, loving sparkling wines and award winning vintage Cap Classiques for a range of tastes that uplift the mood and add style to any occasion. There is a range of tasting experiences, with the Bubbly and Nougat Pairing being the most popular. Enjoy breakfast or lunch at Le Venue restaurant, which is also hosts weddings, private functions and conferences.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Time!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went to JC le Roux during the December holiday. We did the early 10am booking so it wasn't very busy. It is a very nice place and very professional at JC. We did the champagne and nougat tasting, and it was amazing. The flavours were very lovely and it was a fun experience. My fiancé is not a wine or champagne fan but he really enjoyed tasting everything there. All and all a good experience. Only thing I found odd is that the champagne at JC Le Roux is more expensive there than in the shops. So I bought my bottles at the shops instead.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    84
    26
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Champagne and nougat tasting”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We went for a girlie treat to JC le Roux for champagne and nougat tasting. The area of Stellenbosch is utterly stunning. The wine farm has has a lovely vista of the mountains in the distance. The venue is lovely and modern and we tasted 3 brut wines and the relevant nougat which were presented in a cute bag which we were then told to place in a certain order on a china plate. The second round we were presented with two sparkling wines - they were very sweet and not to my taste. We were given a brief history of jc le roux and how the various wines are made. Altogether a lovely afternoon and worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petite70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Commercial tourist trap”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

JC le Roux is located in one of the most breathtaking locations in Stellenbosch. The venue is beautiful and it allows visitors a glance into the manufacturing of sparkling wines with a viewing “deck” over the bottling facility.

We did a nougat and MCC/Sparkling wine pairing. Two of the four MCCs offered were flat and I had to send it back. The tasting room is crowded and loud, one struggles to enjoy the wine in such a “conveyor belt” setup. The nougat, although tasty, is presented in a sealed bag on a long porcelain plate. The waitress quickly mumbles which nougat goes with which glass and disappears for 20 minutes. After being absent for a very long time, the waitress quickly rambles through yet another set of memorized, insincere wine-talk, pours the incredibly sweet vin doux, and then disappears until you decide to leave.

JC le Roux should really invest more time into promoting the luxury of MCC and have a more personalised, pre-booked type of service than this rushed, insincere setup.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jsleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning tasting and great restaurant”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went to JC Le Roux in November 2013 for sparkling wine tasting - which was lovely! It is paired with nougat!! Very pretty and very well done in a great venue. Then to the restaurant of Le Venue - sat outside - good service, had a fantastic burger and oysters!!! Very nice restaurant and food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taste buds...”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Very posh venue.

Interesting information but can't see exactly how it's made in real life.

We did the tasting with nougat and was really interesting to see just how the taste changes and compliments one another.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of J.C. Le Roux also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to House of J.C. Le Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing