We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Wild Peacock Food Emporium
Ranked #100 of 258 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mediterranean, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: High quality Food Retail Emporium specializing in the retail of exotic premium foods such as fresh oysters, mussels, sea bass, trout, 'green sassi approved fresh kob, petit poussin, free range chicken and duck, a huge selection of local artisanal and imported cheeses. Grass Feed beef, Lamb and Venison from the Taste of the Karoo as well as Olives, oils and vinegars. Valrhona French chocolate, to name but a few of the many "foodie" delights.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

good food, good service, lovely setting, lovely atmosphere. interesting products to buy, lovely and different!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food & good service”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Fresh ingredients and unusual dishes it's worth going back again to try the other goodies on the menu

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fonzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Good coffee, great snacks, oysters if you want them ( we do ) bubbles by the glass, good wine store. Fantastic deli items too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice little find”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Situated just off the main area this deli/cafe serves really delicious food and coffee. We go there to stock up from the deli, duck breast, quail, cheese, cold meats etc..... But always sit on the stoep for a glass of bubbly and a snack. Give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One small thing..”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I love this deli-type restaurant and always refer my clients to come here. The food is delicious, the service (from all staff) super friendly and helpful. We had a lovely lunch there yesterday, bought some interesting wines and cheese from Ruaan, but was disappointed when we the restaurant did not accept American Express credit cards for payment.

Since I am in the Tourism Industry myself I feel it is so important to accept payment with all kinds of credit cards. I believe that with todays economy we must make it easy for our customers to do business with us.. and accepting all forms of payment is one way of doing that. I really hope that the owners of Wild Peacock will look into this matter and ensure that a wonderful experience does not end with one leaving the restaurant feeling disappointed..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rene0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildpeacock1, Owner at Wild Peacock Food Emporium, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Rene0705
Thank you very much for visiting the Wild Peacock on the 23rd June. and the problem you experienced with us not accepting American Express.
I shall look at this option again as a facility to offer clients.
I have no objection to allowing the use of this credit card at the Wild Peacock at all, the only reason we have not gone with this card is the rediculous charges this organisation charge us every time the card is used to pay for the items or meal purchased. It is more than double whateverone of the other cards charges!!
We try extremely hard to price all our items and dishes at really attractive prices as that is what we believe in so would like to support those credit cards that encourage this as well, unfortunately this is not the case with American Express.
Having said that I shall look at it again.
Please pop in and test thge outcome in the near future.
Kind
regards
The Wild Peacock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Peacock Food Emporium also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Wild Peacock Food Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing