We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Stellenbosch
Post
Inbox
Search

“Deeply disappointing ”

The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch
Ranked #22 of 337 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $21
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hussar Grill in Stellenbosch is regarded as one of South Africa's premier restaurants, serving only the best steak available.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here last night after great reviews. The service was not the best - little interest shown by the waitress. The crisps on the table were floating in oil. The prawn starter was limp and prawns raw. The calamari underwhelming at best. Steak great and mash fab so my advise would be to stick to meat!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sarat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sarat94,

Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch steakhouse. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the level of service and food you experienced.

We would like an opportunity to contact you. Could you kindly take a moment to forward this review to stellenbosch@hussargrill.com so that we may get in touch with you directly to address your concerns?

Many Thanks, Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2020

We had a very large party but we were seated and served promptly. The wonderful outdoor area made our large group comfortable and our server was most accommodating and pleasant. All of our orders were hot and fresh and we all left with full bellies. The entire experience was one that made our vacation in South Africa that much more memorable.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tamrac925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020

Dear Tamrac925,

Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch steakhouse; your recommendation of us is very much appreciated. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your time spent with us.

We look forward to welcoming you for another memorable experience on your next visit to SA.

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Despite not making a reservation we were accommodated despite the restaurant being extremely busy. Service was superb from start to finish. We had a mixture of steaks between us and all our party rated them as excellent. Great wine list to suit everyone's palate and pocket. Special request made for something that was not on the menu and the staff went out of their way to accommodate us again. Great evening and would certainly recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 507AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear 507Alanc,

Thank you for your lovely review of our The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch grill room. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed our finest quality steaks.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

A wonderful evening in Stellenbosch. The waiter understood we were new to the area and was an excellent guide through the meal. The wild game (particularly the Kudu) was excellent and the wine list is superb. Great service!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear Norman V,

Thank you for your review of our The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch steakhouse. We are so happy to hear that your waitron took excellent care of you and that you enjoyed the finest quality game meat and our award-winning wine selection.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
The Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

When we arrived, we didn’t have a reservation, but a friendly waitress offered us that we can wait in the bar until a table will be free. We were waiting there and everyone were so busy, that no one has time to ask us if we wanna drink something or just give us a menu (what we asked)
We had to wait 1,5 hour to get our food. Which was okay, but nothing special. You really saw that the waitress were overworked.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank victoriabo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Guest Relations Manager at The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear Victoriabo91,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to read that this was your Hussar Grill experience.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in contact with you and hopefully redeem ourselves. Please, could you forward this review to this email address stellenbosch@hussargrill.com and we will be in contact with you shortly?

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many Thanks, Hussar Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing