We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grill Heaven!!”

The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch
Ranked #16 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $13 - $36
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the charming town of Stellenbosch, this Hussar Grill opened its doors in . The front entrance boasts a beautiful facade complete with brass lettering and leaded windows, leading onto the traditional-style grill room. The restaurant also offers sheltered table s outdoors on the piazza for al fresco dining in the warmer weather.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grill Heaven!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've been here for dinner and I've been here for lunch - this is the best place for grills/ steaks and burgers, If you're a red meat "fan" like I am!! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is excellent. Will definitely recommend this to everyone I know.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    212
    60
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy, intimate, quality restaurant”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On arrival, tasty homemade veg crisps are placed on table to nibble on while one looks over the menu. Steaks and ribs were tender and lean, potato chips and veg like mom used to make.
Lovely atmosphere , highly recommended .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bridigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finaly a cosy atmosphere restaurant in Stellenbosch. Great.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Yes very succesful indeed. Great meat quality and try various sauces. Delicious. Remember this is definitively a place for excellent meat.
This is the place to feel confortable in a sort of private wine cellar.
Feel at home with less number of bottles ... who knows, maybe not ?
A drink, kalamata olives, home made chips welcomes us. Good service. Booking is essential.

Just great. Very happy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exactly What It Says On The Box !”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a familiar steakhouse formula, and we were not disappointed by the execution. What it delivers is exactly what you expect. We were greeted as soon as we entered and, although there was a slight problem with our reservation this was quickly overcome. My T-bone was very good, and correctly cooked. The service was friendly and quick. Indoors is classic steakhouse ambiance, but there is also a nice seating area outside at the back, where you can watch what is going on in the walkway and catch the occasional street entertainer. If you like steakhouses, you'll certainly enjoy The Hussar Grill !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Steak and Wine”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I normally go because there is nothing better than a good steak washed down by delicious wine & this place checks all the boxes. Not 5 star but intimate and pub cosy feel. I have been to the Rondebosch, Greenpoint, Tokai and Stellenbosch options and they are pretty much all the same on quality. Locations so varied.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing