We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Birdcage

The Birdcage
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Birdcage is a small restaurant and gift shop in Stellenbosch. You will find us in the Aan de Gragt Building, Ground floor unit 3 & 4, right opposite Kauai in the De Wet Centre. We serve breakfast until 12h00 daily, light lunches from 09h00 to 17h00 and the most delicious cupcakes throughout the day. Our trading hours are,Mon - Fri from 09h00 to 17h00Saturdays from 09h00 to 13h00 (Breakfast served until 13h00)Sundays - closed.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

All I can say is that it is the most quaint tea bar in Stellenbosch, with the most friendly staff. Their prices are cheap, and their cupcakes are heavenly...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marikavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Bird Cage is beautifully decorated with a wonderful atmosphere. Their food never disappoints and the red velvet cupcakes are the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best carrot cup cake ever !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Do yourself a favour - go to Birdcage and have their carrot cupcake - promise best ever !!! The atmosphere is brilliant, the cakes are fresh, warm and honestly some of the best I ever had

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naude77234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for snacks and special teas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The little courtyard is a great place to have breakfast. Love their coconut bread! 'Clean' food, pleasant waiting staff, delicious teas. A favourite place with the local girls! (Nice shop too.)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I first went here a few years ago and fell for this little place. It has a shop you can wander through filled with girlie things and home decor items but the drawing card for me was the little restaurant serving good coffee and drinks and light meals as well as amazing cupcakes. They are huge, decadent and decorated so prettily that you almost feel guilty eating them. I look forward to going back again soon!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank alavan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Birdcage also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to The Birdcage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing