We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#2, should be #1”

Slow Market Stellenbosch
Ranked #4 of 24 Shopping in Stellenbosch
Attraction details
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wow! WHAT A FIND! First, zero tourists; only locals! Second, truly beautiful surroundings! Third, all local handmade goods, food. Locavore's dream come true! Beautiful diversity in goods - bought fresh roasted macadamia nuts in shell w/cracker for my mother; smoked olives for my friend; and infinity scarf for myself (cannot underestimate the fashionistas of the Western Cape)! And raw vegan salad for lunch! Beautiful beautiful morning! Totally recommend - and cuts the wine tasting!

1  Thank KimberlyP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Public Relations Manager at Slow Market Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful rating!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Slow Market Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"saturday morning"
in 13 reviews
"oude libertas"
in 11 reviews
"bread"
in 11 reviews
"wonderful market"
in 4 reviews
"craft beer"
in 7 reviews
"food stalls"
in 6 reviews
"waffles"
in 4 reviews
"for sale"
in 6 reviews
"credit card facilities"
in 2 reviews
"shawarmas"
in 2 reviews
"great morning"
in 3 reviews
"delicious food"
in 5 reviews
"variety of foods"
in 2 reviews
"clothing stalls"
in 2 reviews
"lovely outing"
in 2 reviews
"by the glass"
in 2 reviews
"preserves"
in 2 reviews
Filter

97 - 101 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

The fresh goods market at Oude Libertas Stellenbosch rates as the best market I have visited in the Cape. With a wide variety of local foods and produce plus a selection of quality stalls selling clothing and decor items. Open every Saturday rain or shine. Tip: take a cooler box for the fresh produce you are sure to buy. Very good Free Range chicken and duck, pastries, wines, olives etc. Take cash in case the Auto Teller is off line.

1  Thank hotshotCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Public Relations Manager at Slow Market Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful rating!

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience you had with the ATM.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Slow Market Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family visited the Stellenbosch Market last Saturday and it was a fantastic experience with gorgeous fare, fashion and fabulous people..... the atmosphere is very jovial and is a great way to spend a Saturday. I don't know what I enjoyed more: watching all the people or eating the goodies!

1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Public Relations Manager at Slow Market Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful rating Debbie!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Slow Market Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great venue with stunning views over the vineyards and mountains. Big variet of stalls - clothing, jewellery, books and then of course, food! Make a day of it, bring a picnic blanket and spend the day under the oak trees, while feasting away! But take note - you will have to visit many times in order to enjoy all that's on offer! Also great place to shop for your fresh meat, veggies and home baked bread!

Thank MARIANNE1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Public Relations Manager at Slow Market Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful rating Marianna!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you (and your blanket) again soon!

The Slow Market Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Was just so impressed with the goods on sale at the market. The fresh produce was second to none, the wine tasting a delight and the craft stalls so interesting So hot the day we visited but there were seating area in the shade where you can picnic or just enjoy a cool drink. We even had our car cleaned in the car park while we shopped.

Angela C South Wales

Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail B, Public Relations Manager at Slow Market Stellenbosch, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful rating!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again when you are in South Africa!

The Slow Market Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slow Market Stellenbosch also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Slow Market Stellenbosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing