We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great patio, great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guardian Peak

Guardian Peak
Ranked #15 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Guardian Peak Winery and Restaurant was opened in December 2005, and since then, has been a popular destination for winelands dining.We are open for lunch from Monday to Sunday, and for dinner from Wednesday to Saturday. The focus of the a la carte menu is on serving unpretentious bistro style food with an emphasis on prime-quality steaks.We only serve wines from our greater portfolio, and trust that you find the selection to your satisfaction.We invite you to Guardian Peak, sample our food and wines, and trust that you enjoy the experience that we have to offer.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great patio, great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Guardian Peak has a great patio, view and food and really is a super spot to hang out. The employees treated us really great and I can highly recommend this restaurant. Really nice Shiraz!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rockboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    144
    55
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“year round winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

venture off the beaten track and up into the vinyards to enjoy the wonderful views, delicious food and solid wines of Guardian peak. My favourite time is autumn when the vines lay a crimson and gold patch work over the foothills of the Helderberg.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice dinner and gorgeous setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food was pretty good, really enjoyed the starters. Beautiful restaurant, try and get a seat on the patio and enjoy the view.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank YoliPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've bee regular visitors to the Guardian Peak over many months, it's always been good. Just before New Year, on a wine buying sorte we found that they now open for lunch and dinner at the weekend as well. We booked for last Sunday and as a business friend was in Cape Town we invited him to come along.
What a great lunch and excellent wine as well. We're back there for a re run on Sunday!
This is a restaurant which not only offers great food, wine and service, it has a stunning vista, we've been there at all seasons of the year and are never disapointed by the beautiful views, mountains and vinyard as far as the eye can see.
The staff are also very friendly and efficient, top marks to management for, your human resources management.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little diasappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This has been one of our places to take visitors,with its breath taking view of the mountains. Service has always been attentive, and the waiters usually chatty.

This was my first visit, we returned to the UK in April last year. The first surprise was that breakfast is now only served between 8.30 and 9.30. One of the joys was being able to come fro breakfast at 10am which never appeared to be a problem and there were often others who came at that time.

We arrived before 9.30, our booked time and waited at least 3 minutes before one of the 3 female waiter behind the tasting counter even noticed us. Our order was taken, and when the food finally arrived it was delivered by a different waiter who proceded to give the wrong order to the wrong person.

Normally we have been asked if we wanted tea or coffee with our breakfast, or after, but not on this occasion. We were delivered toast, no offer of whether we wanted white or brown toast, just delivered white! The remaining toast was cleared without the waiter actually asking whether we had finished - we had, but it would have been prudent to check.

The eggs benedict, thankfully were up to their usual good standard, if only the serviice, and attitude had been as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wineaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guardian Peak also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Guardian Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing