We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Meal I've Ever Had”
Review of Makaron

Makaron
Ranked #39 of 252 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Lucas Carstens presents his menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. Lucas has enormous respect for the quality and provenance of each ingredient that comes into his kitchen and takes pride in working with ethical producers and suppliers who share his philosophy of excellence. Complementing Makaron Restaurant is M Bar, an inviting lounge-style bar with the decadent ambience of a Parisian salon.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
“The Most Amazing Meal I've Ever Had”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Makaron Restaurant has the most amazing food I've ever had! We ate a 3 course meal and everything was cooked to perfection. The wine was amazing and service was excellent.
I give this restaurant a 12/10 and I will defiantly be returning with friends and family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FarmerBoyEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear FarmerBoyEC,
Thank you very much for your extremely kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back in the near future.
KInd regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    38
    24
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
508 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“The Monday Restaurant”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Looking out in Cape Town for a good restaurant on a Monday is a real challenge, but willing to try , we went to MAKARON first time and were quite surprised to find the restaurant within a 5-star guest house, somewhere in Stellenbosch. The owner spent a lot of money in that guest house to give it an individual touch with lots of Philipp Starck designed furniture, mixed with contemporary mainstream accessories - well, it`s up to each visitor, if you like it or not.
Due to the marvellous weather we had been seated outside and were looking at a wall, which surrounded the out-door area - quite annoying but we wanted to eat. we quickly looked around into the garden, the pool and the area, which is of course reserved for their hotel-guests, all nicely done.
The kitchen served an amuse-bouche: a slice of a smoked trout on a thick black-brownish heated himalayan salt-stone - it did not look very appealing but we were told to sear the fish 30 seconds on each side and the outcome was very tasty.
The main courses were described on the menu and presented a bit complicated (green-listed fish on vegetable nigiri..) but again, the taste was fine, as well as the grilled prawns . if you like deserts, than it is the best the Makaron can serve, we tried them all, the lemon-tart (truly fresh lemon-ish), the strawberry eclaire (soft and fruity) , the raspberry soufflé (fluffy, fruity and it stayed up) and the pear-tartare (not too sweet).
We started our lunch with a very nicely chilled glass of Villiera Natural Brut, which had been recommende by the young sommeliere, who understands her business, she did not push us in a direction, but listend to the likes we had - well done. same with the white wine recommendation, the Reyneke Sauvignon Blanc had been a new experience for us and we were not disappointed at all.

To have been there at the Makaron, was good - to go again or recommend , well rather not, it is an average restaurant, which kindly opens on a Monday...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nonatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Nonatop,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I do feel the "spent a lot of money" is not important. What is important to us is that we have created a place where our guests' experience is enjoyable and memorable.
Unfortunately decor is something that is very individualistic and cannot appeal to all tastes. We are however extremely proud of the fact that we have been featured in a number of top SA design magazines as well as having received the 2011 Boschendal Style Award at the Eat Out DSTV Food Network Awards.
Beyond the wall is an area of lawn with pool loungers. We did approach a number of people when buiding about the wall and the general consensus was that they would not feel comfortable lying on the loungers in a costume whilst being visible at a close distance to diners. The same feeling was expressed by diners a few metres away from loungers.
It is however possible to sit in certain areas of the restaurant and have great views of the garden and herb garden.
As to 'Monday Restaurant" we are open seven days a week which is pretty much the standard for many other establishments as well.
Thank you for your kind comments about our restaurant manager / sommelier who was under the misapprehension that you had enjoyed your lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“No choice for us”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

First of all - we love food and we love eating out in South Africa - but the Makaron was more than dissapointing. I really can't understand all the good reviews here.
What finally made me write this review was after the dissapointing and bad tasting meal the complimentary served macaron with the bill. This restaurant is obviously named after this delicous sweet - but that were the worst macaron I have ever tried in my life - they were so hard, you could have throw them through a window... Macaron have to be soft and tender - just delicous.
Ok, but just get started. The bread they served was really great, followed by a nice appetizer. After this we orderd a 4 course menu. The first starter was ok - nothing special, but fine. After that we had the second starter, rabbit something and a Makaron style sushi - that was just both undelicous.
As main course we had sprinbok and lamb, the springbok itself was fine (what can you do wrong with springbok meat?) but everything around, the sauce, the mushroom puree was comletly overdone. Especially the mushroom puree was horrible and tasted like it was done out of dried mushrooms.
After that we skipped the dessert as we didn't expect that it will get better and got home unsatisfied.
Beside the bad food the restaurant was quite empty (now I know why) and on top the service was unbelievably bad. We had to ask several times and they didn't know what to do or how to do it right or that they have to fulfill the guest requiments. All what they do was standing at the side and making jokes to themselfs.
The best about Makaron all in all is the stylish interior - it's nice to see but avoid eating there if you expect good cuisine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KSoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are very sad to read your comments about your experience at Makaron on Sunday night. My wife and I were both working that night and after speaking to you I was under the impression you were satisfied.
We have made notes of your comments on the service and will re-enforce our daily training further as we thrive on offering our clients a professional and pleasant service.
Regarding your food experience we just want to comment on the fact that we do not use dry mushrooms to do our puree, quite the contrary our chef forages most times in the forest nearby.
On a positive note, we are delighted you enjoyed the decor and Makaron is a combination of family names, rather than a reference to the French delicacies.
The restaurant was in fact not "quite empty". We take a maximum of 15 tables per evening service and the empty tables inside were because these guests we seated outside on the terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic, great food prepared in an interesting way combined with excellent service and some lovely matching wines.

Would strongly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daveb970_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear daveb970,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are trying so hard to make Makaron somewhere special to visit and comments like your make it all worthwhile.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-thames
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretentious disappointment”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Their website states "We consider our restaurant to be the best in Stellenbosch". Well it isn't, by a long long way, and it shows the self-satisfied arrogance of the whole establishment.
For a start you're into designer-land typified by perspex chairs which after a few minutes are grossly uncomfortable. We arrived to be told "you're too early" but they reluctantly agreed we could have a drink in the garden which was fine except the wine was corked and it took some effort to get it replaced.
When we did get inside the first glass of wine served was horribly oxidised and must have come from a bottle that had been open for many days. Again after some effort it was replaced and was left off the bill. The food wasn't bad but nothing special for the price. Frankly, after all the messing around we had lost our appetites.
This may sound picky but we are so used to being amazed by some fantastic restaurants in Stellenbosch such as Ruste en Vrede, Jordan, Overture and Terroir, that I think this place needs to be a bit more humble.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Makaron, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear JohnM60,
I read your review with dismay and am most sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us.
As far as the statement on our website is concerned my wife and myself were absolutely horrified to see it. It is being removed and our website manager has been reprimanded. Anyone who knows us would realise that we would never willingly put a statement like that on our website.
We do not regard ourselves pretentious or want to be perceived as such. Our departure point has always been friendly and relaxed service of a high standard.
As far as the design of the restaurant is concerned we are regularly complimented on it and have received two design awards of which we are extremely proud.
I am extremely sorry that you had problems with your wine. Unfortunately oxidised wine does occur and we are more than happy to replace it as the relevant wine farms replace it for us when there is a problem with the wine.
If you are again in the Stellenbosch area we would appreciate it if you would give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makaron also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Makaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing