We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Makaron Restaurant

Makaron Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 265 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: OPEN DAILY from 6.30pm to 9pm October to April Closed on Wednesdats May to September Airy and light, the restaurant overlooks lush gardens and leads onto a sheltered terrace for alfresco dining. It is in this stimulating setting that resident chef Lucas Carstens presents his menu of fresh, modern cuisine grounded in the French classics. Lucas has enormous respect for the quality and provenance of each ingredient that comes into his kitchen and takes pride in working with ethical producers and suppliers who share his philosophy of excellence. Complementing Makaron Restaurant is M Bar, an inviting lounge-style bar with the decadent ambience of a Parisian salon.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic, great food prepared in an interesting way combined with excellent service and some lovely matching wines.

Would strongly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daveb970_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear daveb970,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are trying so hard to make Makaron somewhere special to visit and comments like your make it all worthwhile.
Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 203 of 300 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The meal iwas absolutely top rate as was the service with a special touch, but I would suggest going in the evening as the lack of a view (provided by so many restaurants in the Cape Winelands) is then not a problem. We also felt an absence of atmosphere and felt that the decor is average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Frank R,
Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal.
Unfortunately with something like design we cannot appeal to all tastes but hope we made up with "service with a special touch"
We look forward to welcoming you back to Makaron Restaurant in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a set menu, which was really only average, but priced high. The serving staff let down the restuarant, one waitress was extremely rude. We had selected a bottle of Shiraz (red wine) and she brought out white wine glasses, and when our friend queried this, she was very abrupt, interrupted him and left the rest of the table feeling very uncomfortable. Highly unacceptable considering the great expense of the meal / wine, which worked out to over ZAR 850.00 per head ( +/-Eur 80.00 per head ). This incident left us feeling unwelcome and we will certainly not return - there was no apology or acknowledgement of the rude manner in which we were treated. In fact, the entire restuarant seemed to be understaffed for the New Year's event.

3  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd v, Owner at Makaron Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear TShaw1969,
I am very sad you hear about your experience.
We most definitely do not condone any form of rudeness to a guest at our establishment. My wife and I are most disappointed that your unhappiness was not brought to our attention (we were there the whole evening) so that we could possibly have reversed the situation.
I am perturbed by your having been served red wine in white wine glasses. We have a large selection of different red wine glasses that are used for different varietals and this is all under the control of our capable and experienced sommelier.
I must however point out that we do not feel we were understaffed and received many complements on the standard of service.
I am extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Best food since a long time. One of the best places in Stellenbosch. Excellent service, Josephine and her team are fantastic. Wine pairing made us discover some delicious local wines. Place to be recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laurent_Sae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is really like going to a Michelin restaurant. We started in the bar and had a very tasty glass of champagne - and this is where all the these extra treats start, with a delicious snack. Then came the 3-course wine-and dine-menu, again with a lot of extra goodies in between. It was all very exiting to try and very, very delicious. The friendly waitress explained every dish and the wine that came with it. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening and hope to come back one day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Karin1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makaron Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Makaron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing