We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just average”

Decameron Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just average”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The food was standard/nice and restaurant very popular and busy, but lacked a little atmosphere and service could have been better

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimmyroberts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    78
    39
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Uninspired Italian”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

These guys just haven't kept pace with all the excellent pizza options in Stellies - sgt peppers & colcaccios offer much better pizzas and salads. Nice spot in the centre of town but uninspiring food and service.

Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely food let down by not so lovely people”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

myself and my partner had the audacity to show up on a friday night in winter without a reservation. the death stare of the lady receiving us should have been our clue to leave.
we were seated at a tiny table next to the bar counter where we were regularly bumped into by passersby and bar patrons. this despite the tables one row over against the window not being full at any time during our dinner.
food was very nice. our one waiter equally so, the other can only be described as surly. our mains arrived without the sauce ordered as a side, but before a word could be said both our waiters were awol not to be seen again until well after we finished eating.
i'm afraid i will give decameron a miss on my next trip to stellenbosch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuck-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Decameron has stood the test of time!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

As a student and young adult in the 1980/90s I had many memorable meals at Decameron, and I was keen to try it once again during our family's recent trip to Stellenbosch. Well as it turned out, we had 3 meals there in a week, and thoroughly enjoyed every one! The staff were friendly, welcoming (even when I arrived on the first day with shorts and a t-shirt!) and very efficient. We tried many dishes from steaks to pastas, and really enjoyed it all. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice food but the venue was a bit noisy”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food dished up was very good, both starters and mains and contrary to others comments came in an expedient manner. It was also good value although as our travels have brought us further west we have seen an increase in prices, but still cheap relative to the UK. The noisy ambience may have been down to a group of precocious young girls on a birthday treat. I would recommend this restaurant to others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TivertonPritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Decameron Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Decameron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing