We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish, good service at off hours”
Review of Cape Town Fish Market - CLOSED

Cape Town Fish Market
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Stellenbosch Cnr Plein & Ryneveld Street Stellenbosch Tel 021 883 9216 Fax 021 883 9234 Cell 082 887 3998
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good fish, good service at off hours”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stopped here with some colleagues at a slow time, and the service was fine then (contrary to some others' experience when it's busy). The staff were friendly and helpful. Most of us got the catch of the day, which was of good quality and nicely cooked, but they had a fairly extensive menu. Prices are by American standards very reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlantGeek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    27
    22
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing quality for an amazing price!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This restaurant is simply wonderful. The selection of fish is amazing and the sushi is top. The prices are also extremely competitive, especially when compared to Europe. The staff are also very friendly and customer centric!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miseger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food is OK, but the service was wonderful”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stopped off during the day as we were waling to our accomodation. Although the doors were open, clearly the place was not ready for customers. We popped our head in, and staff encouraged us to go inside and have a look.. We booked dinner for the same evening. Mavis was our waitress, and she was just adorable. Nothing was too much trouble, and when we moved outside after dinner to finish up our drinks, there was no problem, and Mavis even went to choose us the perfect table!
The food was nice, and the bill very reasonable. Had we been in Stellenbosch any longer, we would almost certainly have gone back. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HongKongCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
2 reviews
“Long wait for dinner”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We waited 1 h 10 min for our starters and then 20 min for our main course. The manager took no interest in peoples complaints. The problem was with the kitchen not the restaurant staff. Never again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor. Slow service and the worst steak in SA during my 3 weeks holiday”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I wish I had read the previous reviews before deciding to eat here. The slowest service we have experienced during our holidays and the food was poor. 45 mins before the starter arrived, consisting of fish cakes and the order of sushi, which was at best average. 45 mins for sushi is unacceptable. Other customers seemed to use their initiative and actually went up to the sushi bar themselves and got their food quicker.

Another 45 mins plus and as we were just complaining to the manager about the delay and actually in the process of asking for bill, the food magically arrived. So at 9.35 we received the main courses, a steak and a crayfish, the crayfish was 'caught' and shown to us at around 8.15 so quite how it takes 90 mins to cook a steak and a crayfish I will never know.

We had commented on how good the steaks in SA were, compared to the UK, and that to get a bad one must be unlucky, we'll this was my unlucky night. The worst steak by far. Grisly and fatty beyond belief and not cooked well. I like my steaks medium-rare but this was so bad I could not eat it all. The crayfish was just not worth the money (240 rand) as there was little meat on it.

The manager apologised but at the end of the day that's all we got. Not good enough and while we are only tourists and unlikely to visit again anyway, this review may hopefully forewarn other tourists and hopefully you can find alternative restaurants in the area for better food and service.

If the owner responds, I wonder if it will be the usual, standard response which seems to be the norm, or whether he will actually take the time to read this and respond to each individual?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Chris M, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market, responded to this review
yesterday
Dear Dave F,

It is with regret to receive feedback of this nature and that you have endured poor service delivery from our establisment during your visit to South Africa.

We have experienced challenges during this busy period and I would like to assure you that I did read your review and do take note of the details. Your review will also be shared with my team so that we can make a construtive effort to address these issues to avoid similar dissapointment to our other patrons.

It is clear that we have failed to deliver service and product of standard that we can be proud of. I would like to apologize on behalf of the CTFM Stellenbosch team for this experience and we hope that should you be able to travel to South Africa in the near future that we will be given an oppurtunity to make this up to you and to restore your confidence in our establisment, product and service.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Town Fish Market also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing