We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAJOR UPGRADE!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oude Werf Restaurant

Oude Werf Restaurant
Ranked #148 of 244 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Oude Werf is one of Stellenbosch’s oldest - and newest - landmarks for food lovers. Our original 1802 Restaurant was an Eikestad favourite. Today, our beautifully redesigned ‘modern-meets-vintage’ bistro, named “Liefde” (“Love”, in Afrikaans) still preserves our essential traditions: homey, Cape classics prepared with love… and a contemporary gourmet twist from chef, Albert van der Loo.Liefde’s exciting new menus features plain, simple and down-to-earth sensational! From lunchy light meals under the vines of our shady courtyard patio, to robust country a la carte dinner specialities – served alfresco or indoors around our fireplace. Settle in for a snack or sundowners at poolside. Try more-ish cheesecake or ‘tuisgebak’ and coffees on our Voorstoep. And you dare not miss a taste of some of the Cape most quaffable vintages from the estates of our world-famous wine region.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MAJOR UPGRADE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I haven't been there for a while, but was pleasantly surprised by the effect of the recent upgrade. Great food and authentic Stellenbosch old world ambience! Do visit this one.

Helpful?
Thank flyboyinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Liefde bistro we don't think so!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Terrible service, plenty of staff running around inside whilst the customers sit outside! Dirty tables left for absolute ages whilst what looks like management walk past obliviously. Food not bad but we definitely will not be back in a hurry! Improve the service, speed and friendless as you have a gem of a location! Disappointing to say the least!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Avalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Xmas Delight!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Make sure you have your Xmas meal here.
We have been having our Xmas meal here for the 5th year. This year they pulled all the stops out.
The ambiance was great with a hint of Xmas decoration. Our host and the waitress was excellent, attentive but not intrusive. The menu and presentation was super. Our taste buds were indeed stimulated. Finally all the guests interacted with each other as if they know each other from the previous year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Virtual_dirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Good service and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location of the Hotel Oude Werf is perfected located in the centre of Stellenbosch. The ambiance and the atmosphere are perfect in a nice old building. Very good and friendly service. The rooms are modern and very comfortable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A cool and delightful reprieve on a hot summer's day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My daughter and I just happened to be walking past the Oude Werf Hotel, when the friendly doorman ushered us in. Thinking it was only a hotel, we walked through a beautiful foyer to a vine-covered courtyard at the back. There were cloth napkins and good solid cutlery, a sign of an upmarket restaurant. We had the Mediterranean roasted vegetable salad and the South African Tasting plate, both surprisingly delicious and beautifully seasoned. I would definitely stop here again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oude Werf Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Oude Werf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing