We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good experience”

Oude Werf Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Exceptional food and drink at Oude Werf has been a Stellenbosch institution for more than 200 years. The dishes of the first inn’s Tant Betjie Wium delighted her guests in the 1800’s and today, this tradition lives on in a new restaurant, designed by top SA architects Revel Fox, which opened in 2014. Built over the foundations of the hotel’s famous 17th Century churchyard site (still visible today) the restaurant is centred on a charming in-situ kitchen. There are touches of period detail recalling the hotel’s heritage and even a huge tree is incorporated into the spacious interior. Outdoors, a vine-covered courtyard dining area with water features is a reminder of the ‘lei-water’ canals that once existed here. Just off the courtyard, a period-style lounge, with bar and barista station opens onto the hotel’s central gardens and pool deck - another quiet spot for a glass of wine, cocktail or coffee. The restaurant’s signature dining style is Cape Traditional food with a contemporary gourmet ‘twist’ and features varied menus with classic dishes showcasing the flavours and ingredients of the area, complemented by an extensive selection of wines from this celebrated region. From easy breakfasts, light seasonal lunches, to hearty dinners or baked delights, Oude Werf Restaurant offers a delicious sample of Cape cuisine in a relaxing, convivial setting that’s essentially Stellenbosch.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had been disappointed with the lack of restaurants in Stellenbosch offering traditional Cape Afrikaans dishes, a lot seem to be going down the " international " menu route. But we can get that food all over the world. So we were pleased to find the " comfort " and " traditional " choices on the menu here. On calling in the day before to make a dinner reservation, we had been advised that there would be 2 large parties in when we wanted to dine, and that there could be a bit of a wait. So that was fair enough. In the event there was not really a problem, and the staff apologised more than once for what they perceived as a problem, but, as we had been warned in advance, there was nothing we were concerned about. The food was very tasty, and nicely presented, there was a good choice of wines by the glass,and the staff were all very pleasant. If this had not been our last evening in Stellenbosch we would definitely have returned here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty heart meal in a quiet courtyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Part of the Oude Werf, the restuarant is situated in a quiet vine filled courtyard - very romantic in the evenings and very sunny and pleasant in the morning for breakfast. Staff were attentive, food was good - good value for money, simple food rather than trying to be too clever. Particularly liked the 'comfort food' section on the website as that is exactly what I was in the mood for.

My only minor gripe was the music which seemed to veer between French cafe and Ibiza chill out 1993 - I know it is tough to get music right in a restaurant but maybe could be improved.

All in all though, very enjoyable!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KateWardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrtalje, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a mistake!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We must have experienced a day when all chefs in the kitchen was on leave and replaced with the shop-owner nearby or something. Long waiting to be served and our fish was so overcooked that it was merely eatable. Out of the three different courses we had together, the ostrich was obviously OK, but not more.
To our disappointment, this was our lowest ranking of restaurants for the 5 weeks we spent in SA, a country with so much good food and good service!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbjurstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best service experiences in Stellenbosch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Once again we got a table in a full booked restaurant without any reservation. They have very warm service which seems to be typical for Souht Africans. Food was suberb - the only minus was a bit slow service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pekka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Xmas day disaster”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend Xmas 2012 in Cape Town, South Africa. Well in advance of our departure we booked evening meals with several excellent repute restaurants for each of the festive season days. On Xmas day itself, which we were expecting to be the highlight of our holiday, we reserved a table for dinner at the 1802 Restaurant, Oude Werf Hotel, Stellenbosch; a 40-odd mile round trip from and back to Cape Town. We arrived in good time for our 19:30 reservation.

The evening got off to an ominous bad start when we were accosted for no reason in the restaurant reception area by a diner who was obviously very drunk. He insisted on shaking my hand, went back to his table and then repeated the disturbing and unwelcome episode. At this, a heavily built member of the restaurant staff intercepted the drunkard and insisted that he return to his table. A little later a party of three new guests were subjected to exactly the same embarrassing and unwelcome attention from the drunkard. Hotel security were then called and the drunk and his partner were ushered out of the restaurant and off the premises, but not before an undignified grappling resulted in the drunk being wrestled to the floor.

Having been shown to our table we were given menus and we were very surprised to see that it consisted of six rather ordinary separately priced main courses, none of which included customary festive season fare, and four ordinary deserts, but no starters. However I noticed that there was a buffet bar consisting mainly of salads, so we assumed that a starter from the buffet was included with each of the main courses. We asked our server (like all the others present, a late middle age female who was obviously a local and rather casual in appearance and amateurish in table-side manner and general demeanour). She told us flatly that the dinner menu consisted of just a main course and a desert, and it would not be possible to have starter. We therefore enquired about the buffet, whereupon a separate menu was brought listing the contents of the buffet, at a separate all-in price. We told the server to see if we could have starter with the first menu. She disappeared into the kitchen and returned a few minutes later to say that it was out of the question. We were flabbergasted; but having travelled 20-odd miles from Cape Town and time moving on on Xmas day evening, we felt it would not be sensible to move elsewhere. In over 40-odd years of fine dining all over the world, I cannot recall a single instance previously where an evening meal menu consisted of only two courses.

We ordered a glass of white wine each and from the uninspiring main selection of courses, the line caught fish of the day. Fifteen minutes passed and nothing had appeared. The waitress asked if the wine had been served, which it had not, and then went to get it.

Then we waited and waited and waited - no food appeared. Sixty-five minutes after entering the restaurant we were finally served with the fish dish – a pan fried piece of fillet on bed of spinach (as I recall the accompanying vegetable – but may be wrong: we were so disillusioned and furious at the appalling situation that this sort of detail may be the subject of inaccurate recall). The dish was basic but acceptably prepared and cooked. The restaurant manager, a very informally dressed and apparently hyper-active but evidently totally ineffective character, then had the effrontery to ask if we were enjoying the meal! He was told in no uncertain terms that the restaurant, the meal and the occasion were a total disaster, and we demanded the bill. He charged for only one main course, and so the cost of our Xmas dinner with wine came to a princely R161.

In summary the evening was a total disaster and a bitter disappointment, particularly as it was Xmas day and was to have been the highlight of our holiday. An absolute disgrace under any circumstances and particularly so for a restaurant that claims to be one of the best in the Western Cape region. It would not be worth the journey even from within Stellenbosch itself, not to mention the 40-odd round trip from Cape Town. Avoid it like the plague

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TechVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oude Werf Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Oude Werf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing