We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, High quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penelope's Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this great guesthouse which is about 5 minute drive from the centre of Stellenbosch. Room was 1st class with a huge comfortable bed, clean bathroom, flatscreen TV and a share little kitchen (with wine, beers and softdrinks). Breakfast was perfect with a good selection of fresh fruit and freshly cooked bacon and eggs. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack_mac101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Penelope's Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

We enjoyed a great stay and excellent hosts. Very comfortable accommodation, neat clean and modern. The hosts were friendly and super accommodating, thanks for all the help with my bike.

Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys great quality!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Penelope's Guesthouse for 4 nights in December 2011 and again for two nights in January 2012. The guest house has a very fresh and clean appeal to it. The rooms are wonderful, with clean crisp white linen. The bathrooms impeccably clean. Each room is equipped with a flat screen TV. The little balcony makes it pleasant to sit on when the weather is nice, especially in the evenings. We even kept our balcony doors open during the night. The attention to detail is really to be appreciated. From fresh flowers in the rooms to chocolates on the cushions to wine in the rooms. A separate kitchenette is also available for the guests, with microwave, fridge, coffee, tea, cutlery and crockery. Penny offers a very nice, fresh and healthy breakfast in the mornings. The fresh fruit is 'hand picked' and delicious. The lounge / dining room area also offers a braai area which guests are allowed to use. Penny is always available when needed, and gives excellent advice regarding information about the surroundings of Stellenbosch. She knows about ALL the nice places especially were food and shopping is to be enjoyed. We can only recommend this beautiful and friendly guesthouse. A thank you also to the staff of the guesthouse. They are friendly and helpful. - We will be back !!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The room was pleasant,clan and comfortable . A lovely breakfast was served the following morning. We both felt the hospatality and information was a bit lacking but apart from that it is a stay to recommend

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janewestshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMalan, Owner at Penelope's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you felt the hospitality and information was lacking - we will do our best to improve in this regard!
Kind regards
Penelope

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We visited Penelope's Guesthouse this month while we were visiting South Africa and had a lovely one night's stay. Penelope's attention to detail (fresh flowers on the night stand), her concern for the comfort of her guests, and her warm hospitality made our visit a memorable one. She not only provides a separate kitchenette with a stocked refrigerator, microwave, sink, etc. for her guests, but she welcomed us with wine, tea, coffee and refreshments in our room upon our arrival. The appointments in the bedrooms are in excellent taste, the quality linens were fresh and clean, and the room with its separate balcony was peaceful and quiet; we left rested and relaxed. In fact, when we left, I told Penelope that her B&B deserved a 5-Star rating! Our only regret was that we didn't make reservations for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eherrick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We visited Penelope's guesthouse with our friends from America. it was wonderful to arrive at a clean, neat and fresh guesthouse. Penelope pays attention to all the detail, from fresh flowers as you walk in, to fruit in the room and wine in the fridge. Thank you also for the chocolates on our pillows everyday ! The breakfast in the morning was the best ! Thank you to friendly Morgan who does a superb job !

Room Tip: Choose any room. They are all good !
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heleen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed just one night on our way out of South Africa (it's a very convenient 20-25 minutes from Cape Town airport). Wish we had had more time to spend here. Penny Malan has got all the ingredients right - clean contemporary decor, big, comfortable beds dressed in quality white linen, nice bathrooms, airconditioning and lots of little touches that reflect her welcoming and generous nature - fruit, wine and chocolates in the rooms, toiletries in the bathrooms, and a common area stocked with teas, coffee and cold drinks. Lovely breakfast in the morning, looking out onto a pretty English cottage-style garden. In a quiet suburb not far from the centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
679 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
2.3 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#9 of 113 in Stellenbosch
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penelope's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penelope's Guesthouse

Address: 21 Speciosa Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $89 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penelope's Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penelope's Guesthouse is situated in Paradyskloof (Stellenbosch) which is approximately 3km from the village centre.Our rooms are furnished with king sized beds (twin beds on request), air-conditioning, satellite television, a desk, a hair-dryer, a Nespresso coffee machine, en-suite bathrooms as well as a private balcony.A swimming pool is available.English, Afrikaans and German is spoken.Limited off-street parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Penelope's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing