We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Stellenbosch”
Review of Besigheim

Besigheim
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Besigheim
Ranked #69 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This would have received a 5 star but no wifi brought them down. We were able to go to the main house and use wifi but it would have been better to have it at the place we rented. We took the soft catering option and it was great. The kitchen had everything that we needed to cook with a Spar very close. There were spices etc. they cleaned everyday and we had our own private pool and secured compound. Great value for what you get.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our first visit to SA, we decided to stay in Stellenbosch rather than Cape Town, and this place is a little gem, and reasonably priced. We stayed at the Askham self catering apartment, which was perfect for us (2 adults + 2 children...11 & 10). The apartment is above the owner Daniels main home, but it has its own entrance, and we were supplied with remote access fob for main gate. The apartment is perfectly laid out for a family of our size, with its own cooking facilities, locely bathroom, and a washing machine. There is also a small outside private balcony with picturesque views. Stellenbosch itself is a short drive away, and numerous vineyards are easily accessible. Daniel was there for a chat and if we needed him....a perfect start to our SA adventure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdNatLouJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I enjoyed my four nights in this delightful part of Stellenbosch. While it's just a bit too far out of the town centre to walk, it is a short drive away, and is situated in a quiet, residential suburb, with a convenient shopping centre nearby. Try and book into the Askham room upstairs - it is luxurious, spacious and very well appointed, with a full kitchen, private deck with nice views, and everything else you could need.

Room Tip: Askham room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ar-de-em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had a great stay at the Chiemsee apartment. Comfortable environment, tastefully decorated, attention to small details and good value for money. Thanks for the hospitality, Daniel. We look forward to coming back again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelinBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Thank you for everything - one of the best times of my life. We'll be back… We had a great stay here @ the Besigheim Bed and Breakfast in Stellenbosch... Our room was so comfortable and the food & wine was the best that I have ever had at a B&B anywhere!
Thank you very much again.
Most sincerely
Daniel & Etienne

Love the two BOKkies

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel-etienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Place
Magnolia Place
#30 of 112 in Stellenbosch
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#41 of 112 in Stellenbosch
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Verger
Le Verger
#59 of 112 in Stellenbosch
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Penelope's Guesthouse
Penelope's Guesthouse
#12 of 112 in Stellenbosch
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baruch Guest House
Baruch Guest House
#18 of 112 in Stellenbosch
133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rosenview Guest House
Rosenview Guest House
#71 of 112 in Stellenbosch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Besigheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Besigheim

Property: Besigheim
Address: 5 Lovell Street | Die Boord, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Besigheim 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Besigheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing