We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but wonder why all the fuss?”

Overture at Hidden Valley
Ranked #20 of 258 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In November 2007 Overture Restaurant, situated on Hidden Valley Wines - a wine farm anchored into the side of the Stellenbosch hills - opened its doors for the very first time. Starting from humble beginnings, Overture soon became a destination for great food, service and wines. Since then, Chef Owners Bertus Basson and Craig Cormack have taken Overture to new heights with accolades as prestigious as being in the Eat Out top 10 for five years in a row and acquiring three stars in the Rossouw's Restaurant guide for four years running.You will find Bertus behind the pots at Overture while Craig focuses on his salt range, Amouleh.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but wonder why all the fuss?”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived for a late lunch and even though the restaurant was very empty we were seated at a table near the kitchen without a view of the spectacular setting. The food was good but not exceptional. We felt it was over-rated compared to other places we ate (and did wine sampling) in Stellenbosch

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HSBFET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    96
    48
    38
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge, Wa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We ate here for lunch 2 weeks ago. Driving to the restaurant in a coner of the wine area that has beautiful views over the surrounding countryside sets the scene for a memorable experience. We had the tasting menu, each wine fitting perfectly with the presented dish. The staff was well trained and gave inpeccable service and the food taste and presentation was outstanding. I am hoping to come back as soon as we can.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank y0ungatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The service was superb and the food was simply soemthing out of this world! This explains why this restaurant is consistently rated amongst the best not only in the Western Cape but is South Africa boradly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sombu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had the tasting menu, it was exceptional! Beautiful views from our table and impeccable service. A fantastic experience that we will gladly return for. The collabaration wine is amazing and they deserve their spot in the top 10

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Micheal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutly great”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

That's a really great location The view over the Bay, the vineyards, fantastic. The staff is full up to date, very gentile and serve you in a great mannor. We took the menues. Fish and meat were cooked "au point" and the dedicated wines were great and fitted perfect.
Looking forward to come back soon.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overture at Hidden Valley also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Overture at Hidden Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing