We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely afternoon!”

Dornier Wine Estate
Ranked #45 of 140 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We visited Dornier to get out the house on a sunny afternoon with a 4 year old and a newborn ! We went with some friends also with 2 young children and really had an afternoon that surpassed our expectations. When I phoned to book (recommended) I said we had 2 children of 4 and 3 and could we be near the jungle gym - we were given a great table and could see the kids at all times. The service was great, and the 3 course winter menu for R175 was great value and of a particularly high standard for the price. We whiled away a good 3 hours just eating, drinking and watching the kids play. It was a really child friendly place with a big christening party also there and there were kids everywhere! It's so nice to see somewhere embracing children as (whilst not everyone's cup of tea), families with young kids are always looking for lovely places to go and are a great market to retain! Anyway, whether you're a couple, group, family with old or young kids this is a lovely place to spend some time. We only live an hours drive away and felt we'd gone on holiday for an afternoon!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gosport_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    8
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and view to go!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We have a company incentive to take our top performers to new exciting wines farms in the Stellenbosch area. Yet again we were not disappointed Dornier started out with a wine tasting for our group of fifteen, some of our staff had never been to wine tasting and the explanation of each wine and the history of Dornier had them captivated. If you are into flying this is the wine farm to visit and make up your own mind about the reflections in the lake from the room of the Cellar roof.
We had one of those stunning Cape sunny days so we opted for the patio to have our meal served, all starters were well received not sure if I would not prefer my Quail without the chocolate sauce but well worth a try. The ribeye was suburb and rest of the table raved about the meal including the Entrecôte in chocolate sauce, always a great indication for me is to see what was left on the plates, all done and dusted! Wines were reasonably priced and staff were brilliant. Great to have the wine shop on hand and perfect gifts for our top performers were laid out on a table in the Dornier bags, third visit and will be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank DarylGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Favourite”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you are a family: this is the place to come. It gets busy on a Sunday but the views, food, service and general feel are outstanding. If you have kids there is a fantastic jungle gym (the best in the area) and what is great is that the grown ups can have a wonderful lunch whilst at the same time watching the kids have a great time = perfect. The Dornier wine is very reliable and overall you wont feel when leaving that you have been ripped off. A great place to go and the views are to die for. Just go and enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MoleyStellenbosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautifull surrondings”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The winefarm is spendid and the surronding beautifull but the wine is not as good, i enjoy the food of the place but not so much the wine. Nice place for sunny days as rainny ones with a masive fireplace inside

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank belegaer_cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is the place to be for great wines and breathtaking views!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank amnsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornier Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Dornier Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing