We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”
Review of De Hoek Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Hoek Manor
Ranked #39 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed one night and were very pleased with our experience. The service was friendly and very helpful. The location is safe and centrally located. The small but quaint downtown was right around the block. The rooms were fantastic right down to the luxiourous heated bed which is a real treat during winter. The breakfast (included) had many options as well. We really had a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hydro231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
84
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Well situated in a quiet area just a couple of blocks from the main. Lovely rooms and excellent service. Nice breakfast with orders taken. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We enjoy visiting the towns around Cape Town. We sleep over for a night, explore the town on foot and hope to find a good local restaurant before heading home the next day. We know Stellenbosch well. I was a student there years ago. I have walked past this house just across the road from the Dutch Reformed Moederkerk which dates from 1722, may times as a student. But on this wet, wintry night we would be guests! We had a hearty welcome from the staff. The house was beautifully and sensitively restored and altered. We had a very friendly reception and were really impressed with our room on the first floor overlooking the church. The room was spacious and warm. We appreciated the complimentary sherry before heading out for our stroll in the rain. The location is really perfect. We could return to the room to freshen up before going out to have dinner. We decided to return with friends in summer. We had an excellent breakfast before our last stroll through the little shops in town before heading home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very nice guesthouse in Stellenbosch. Management ensured that special need were catered for. Service was quick and efficient. Within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. Being close to the centre of town exit traffic was a bit heavy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

From check in till check out everything was just above and beyond. The rooms were gorgeous, spacious and nothing was too much trouble. My friend arrange a surprise for me and the manager was played along so well in order to keep the surprise. The hotel is situated close to the hub of restaurants and for those looking for a bit of night life. Museums are also near by should you wish to go explore historic sites. Breakfast is casual, but the spread they lay out is enough to fit any taste bud. De Hoek my choice in accommodation when staying in Stellenbosch. Dankie tannie and all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Little_Miss_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had high expectations before going to De Hoek Manor, which is supposed to "offer luxury accommodation at great value" and "unrivalled hospitality" (according to their website).
My room looked perfect at first, but you have to be in the dark if you want some privacy since most of the windows open to a public pathway. And unfortunately for me there was a very noisy family next door...
Breakfast was a disaster with a colony of ants invading the buffet table. And nobody seemed to care among the staff!
Since the place is quite pricey, this is definitively not luxury accommodation at great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patap0uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world wide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very comfortable room and bed. Very clean facility. Nicely prepared breakfast. Good location in Stellenbosch-walking distance to restaurants etc. The church bell is evident but adds to the character of the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 37irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#52 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roosenwijn Guest House
Roosenwijn Guest House
#11 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eendracht
Eendracht
#12 of 50 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#30 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
de Oude Meul Guest House
de Oude Meul Guest House
#98 of 112 in Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Manor

Property: De Hoek Manor
Address: 7-9 Drostdy Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Hoek Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of the university town of Stellenbosch, De Hoek Manor is surrounded by National Heritage buildings and arguably boasts the best address in town. We offer luxury accommodation at great value and pride ourselves in our unrivalled hospitality and friendly yet discreet service. De Hoek Manor consists of five luxurious en-suite bedrooms, two conference venues, large verandas and two private courtyards. Our stylishly decorated bedrooms feature views over the oaks, mountains and Stellenbosch's most iconic landmark, the Dutch Reformed 'Moederkerk' ('Mother Church'). Cafes, restaurants, cinemas, designer boutiques, museums, curio shops, the Eerste River, Stellenbosch University and Boland College are all within easy walking distance. De Hoek Manor is the ideal base for tourists and corporate executives to enjoy and experience the captivating beauty of Stellenbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your De Hoek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing