We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to celebrate!”

The Restaurant at Clos Malverne
Ranked #1 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We invite you to join us at the Restaurant Clos Malverne for the ultimate Food and Wine Experience. Our Restaurant offers you an utterly enjoyable intimate and friendly dining experience in unpretentious but beautiful surroundings. It is not surprising that the bulk of our clientele are people who have been here before as well as their friends and colleagues who have recommended it. As you dine, you and your guests will enjoy an unbelievable vista of the softly sweeping vineyards and rolling hills of Devon Valley - so reminiscent of their English counterpart - and the pastel-coloured mountains behind them. It is an incomparable view that will help create a pleasurable and utterly memorable experience. You'll also enjoy fine gourmet dishes prepared by Executive Chef, Nadia Louw-Smith, renowned for her impeccably-prepared and delicately spiced dishes that seduce the palate. She is one of the most experienced chefs in the country and has been voted Chef of the Year for her sublime dishes. It is not surprising then, that Clos Malverne restaurant has become a favourite of gourmands and has received rave reviews from critics and clients, both in South Africa and abroad. Our kitchen closes at 15:00.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to celebrate!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Celebrated Peter's birthday with a few friends on 24 August 2013. Chose the Wine & Food Pairing menu. A lovely time was had by all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    150
    29
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We love that place and try not to miss any of the monthly "Gourmet Dinner's", which are really superb. Clos Malverne is particularly beautiful for lunch, because of the lovely setting and the view onto vineyards and mountains. The food is always delicious, the wines (and the bubbly) are excellent, the staff is very friendly and you don't get ripped off. It is the ideal place to enjoy a great meal with family and friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a four course tasting menu, including pairing wines for 225 Rand. It was really delicious.
The service was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midrangetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is the third time we have been to the Clos Malverne and it never ceases to amaze. The meal and wine pairing menu is unbelievable good value for money and the food is truly excellent. We really enjoyed it, thanks so much!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cla3074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant more than a year ago to celebrate a birthday on the recommendations of friends, who raved about its wonderful food. In those days it was still up and coming and relatively unknown, but we took a chance anyway and were blown away by the quality of food and the wonderful dining experience on offer and vowed to return. This year we were not surprised to see its number 1 status in Stellenbosch and delighted to see it receiving the attention and accolades it deserves for fabulous food, great service and value for money. We took some friends for the wine pairing lunch and they too were suitably impressed by a place that lets the food and ambiance do the talking. In a way I hate rating it so highly as I just might struggle to secure a booking without a lengthy waiting list in the future. But in the meantime well done Clos Malverne and keep up the excellent work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mirbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Clos Malverne also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to The Restaurant at Clos Malverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing