We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and wine at an incredible value”

The Restaurant at Clos Malverne
Ranked #1 of 252 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We invite you to join us at the Restaurant Clos Malverne for the ultimate Food and Wine Experience. Our Restaurant offers you an utterly enjoyable intimate and friendly dining experience in unpretentious but beautiful surroundings. It is not surprising that the bulk of our clientele are people who have been here before as well as their friends and colleagues who have recommended it. As you dine, you and your guests will enjoy an unbelievable vista of the softly sweeping vineyards and rolling hills of Devon Valley - so reminiscent of their English counterpart - and the pastel-coloured mountains behind them. It is an incomparable view that will help create a pleasurable and utterly memorable experience. You'll also enjoy fine gourmet dishes prepared by Executive Chef, Nadia Louw-Smith, renowned for her impeccably-prepared and delicately spiced dishes that seduce the palate. She is one of the most experienced chefs in the country and has been voted Chef of the Year for her sublime dishes. It is not surprising then, that Clos Malverne restaurant has become a favourite of gourmands and has received rave reviews from critics and clients, both in South Africa and abroad. Our kitchen closes at 15:00.
Paris
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food and wine at an incredible value”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Visited the Clos Malverne on a recent trip to the Cape Town area. I picked the 4 course lunch menu with wine pairing. The lunch started with a glass of bubble wine and then comtinued with 4 dishes, each accompanied with a glass of wine. The food was good and the wine pouring very generous. All wines came from the local wine farm itself: a bubbly, a sauvignon blanc, a merlot, a cab and a sweet desert wine. The experience was really good and the price was less than 200 rand, roughly 20 USD! Unbelievable value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdg2sfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    152
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What an embarassement”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had booked a table for 4 for a special lunch celebration with friends. We had been at the restaurant before and found that it was great, so wanted to treat them as well.
We arrived and service from Bongi was excellent in the beginning. We received our food and were disappointed as the guests were too embarassed at the time to say anything and we did not want to make a fuss, so kept quiet.
The Rump...."was the toughest I have ever eaten"
The Duck....."Was very tough"
Pork Belly....."not good, rather tasteless"
My Chicken Curry was not to fault, besides the rice that was warmed in the microwave and had caked and become tough in the middle.
Which brings us to the pudding.....very pretty and really nice....but Waitress brought mine immediately after I had finished eating....I had told her before we started ordering that this is what I will have for pudding.....but later please!
Waitress brought the pudding and no one else was even asked...then another of the same was ordered but she was already on her way to order it....had forgotten to ask the other two guests what they would like. By that time they were a little upset and said they will rather go somewhere else for coffee and pudding / Cake.
To sum up....lunch was below average, however price way above average, service was good in the beginning and then it was lost somewhere...
Will we be back....unfortunately not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BirgitB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perhaps a little less wine!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The winter menu is R195 for 4 courses and 5-6 glasses of half decent wine. The cooking is competent 7/10 and nicely presented though you'll appreciate with that much wine I can't recall much of the meal. At the time I though the restaurant and the views were superb, they are but Jordan (c50-100% more expensive) is several notches better on all fronts. I would happily return to Clos Malverne.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WineTour69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a lovely lunch.
Tip: ask for outside patio seating when making a reservation.
We sat inside and it was also lovely.
Food are just the right portion for a four course meal. The wine selection with every course are excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zurita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to spend a Sunday!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Six of us visited Clos Malverne for a Sunday lunch and we all came away with nothing but praise for the food, the wine, the service and the scenery.
Just getting there is worth it all as the drive from Cape Town, via Baden Powell drive, takes in some startlingly beautiful views. Firstly the sea with the distant mountains sweeping down to the coast. Then the wine lands. And now that it is Autumn we were treated to the russets and golds of the changing leaves in the vineyards. When we were seated it was out on the balcony, and there again nature has painted amazing views. We therefore had feasts for the eyes as well as the stomach!
The tasting course is what we all opted for and not one of us could find fault with any serving. Deeeelicious! The wine was wonderful too, and my thanks go to our designated driver who so nobly gave up a big portion of her wine.
Altogether a great lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patzimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Clos Malverne also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to The Restaurant at Clos Malverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing