We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Incredibly friendly staff”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Impressed by the warmhearted service provided by the staff, especially Ashely's. Whatever we needed, Ashely would sort it out for us. Rooms are neat and comfy, and the breakfast is a steal. Great view from the terrace too. All-round great experience. And got to love the drinks prices downstairs at the bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astro-bboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    21
    12
    19
See reviews for
9
19
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at ikhaya, the staff were super friendly expecially Ashley who went out of her way to help in anyway she could, booking tours and phoning around to get me into accomodation on my next stop. Great breakfast, clean but basic rooms, what else do you need.
Will definitly be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you want to meet the local people of Stellenbosch go and sit on the couch of Ikhaya. You will have a very nice time, great conversations and even a nice dance with barmen. Cheap place with priceless people. You will meet the world just on the corner of Bird Street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The only positive about this place are the regular staff members (both guys behind bar and cleaners), who were both helpful and friendly. Then this place goes a bit down hill.... we booked a dorm and compared to the rest of the dorms we've stayed at in S.Africa this was terrible (for the same price). It consisted of a couple of bunk beds in a damp moldy room where the main light didn't work. The same room has a kitchen within it with no dividing barrier. As it is a student town and the reception is basically a bar it is very loud most nights (often 1-2am) and without ear plugs we would have gone crazy. Putting all that aside we thought we had just got an unlucky draw until the business on the last day....
We had been traveling by Baz Bus and required a shuttle to get to iKhaya. In the morning we spoke to the receptionist who said they would pick us up between 6:30-7pm and asked if we could leave bags upstairs we was agreed seeing as we weren't actually using any beds and the room was empty anyway (as it had been the four nights previously). Then at 6pm we got a call from the Baz Bus asking where we were, the hostel had given us the wrong time and not informed us. We were then greeted by the manager, who obviously has no idea how to handle customers as he instantly blamed us for this problem. Then when he found out we had left our bags upstairs he refused to give us back our key deposit (R50 not much but the manner in which he spoke and reasoning was terrible). Naturally we protested but he just responded back angrily and we needed the lift so left it. (However on a plus note he forgot to charge us for the shuttle bus either way so we actually made R150 profit, I hope the manager reads this part).
To summarize their are alot better hostels in Stellenbosch from what I have read for the same price, don't visit here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick D, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Mr. Rettie

We thank you very much for taking the time to post such a honest and informative review.
As we are currently undergoing some changes as a business, I personally value every response all be it positive or negative so that we can use this for fuel towards aiding our improvements.

With regards to the room, we are currently undergoing renovations. I am unsure as to which room you were allocated but clearly it must of been the room that had not been tended to yet and I am greatly sorry for this. Since then I have personally put a lot of hard work into repairing and repainting our rooms so as to improve all guests quality of stay.
With regards to the main light in the room not working, I ask if this was communicated to any member of our staff as all maintenance is seen to by myself and I was not informed of this problem until now.

I have spoken to all members of my staff and discussed the matter with BazBus and concluded that although there was ample confusion with the arrival of the BazBus which was running ahead of schedule, it does boil down to our negligence, not staying in contact with the driver and messages not being communicated to fellow staffs.
I have also since discussed the matter further with the manager in reference about his demeanor and he apologises for the way he reacted. This will surely not happen again. Thus the reason for the transfer being free of charge due to the inconvenience caused to you.
We pride ourselves in delivering professional and friendly service to all guests and when receiving a review such as yours I see to it immediately and remedy the source.

Again, I thank you for your review and appologise for the inconvenience caused. If you feel the need to discuss any further improvements please feel free to contact me on email. (ndaneel@stellenboschbackpackers.co.za)
I hope that if you see yourself in Stellenbosch again you will come to have a look at us again and maybe we can win you back!

Kind Regards

Nicholas Daneel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stellenbosch hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Comparing to other backpackers this backpackers is not very friendly. There is no free wifi and no free baz bus shuttle. No one showed me where the room was or where the facilities were. The kitchen is in the same room as the dorm and the bathroom didnt look very clean to me.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Amsterdam90

We are sorry to hear of your poor experience with us at iKhaya.

We regret to hear that you felt we were unfriendly as we take pride in offering a warm welcome to all of our guests. With your help I hope that we can get to the bottom of the problem as quick as possible and to avoid any future unfriendliness.

As for the matter of paying for WiFi and BazBus transfers we are currently undergoing some changes as a business and are considering offering free WiFi along with complimentary BazBus transport which will happen in due course.

As we are a large backpackers sleeping up to 68 people we feel one of our unique selling points is that our guests do not all have to make use of one communal kitchen, as a result each room does have their own kitchen.

Currently we are undergoing some changes including a renovation of all rooms at our backpackers any and all reviews are welcome so as for us to provide the best possible service to all future guests, if you feel you would like to advise us on any other points you felt needed improving please email me at (ndaneel@stellenboschbackpackers.co.za).

Thank you very, much for your feedback.


Kind Regards.

Nicholas Daneel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The place is clearly not what it used to be but the staff was very nice and helpful. When we booked Ikhaya they only could give us a double for 2 night although we wanted to stay for 3 nights. When we arrived we told the owner of the place that we were searching for something the 3th night. He just had a cancellation of the self catering apartment and gave us this apartment for only 20 Rand more. When we had to stay a fourth night because the BazBus was full it was also no problem. Breakfast is good and cost only 16 Rand. The location is also very good and every morning the staff was interested in what we were planning to do and gave tips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BastiaanWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed one night at iKhaya before moving on to another hostel in town.
At iKhaya, the man behind the bar did no effort to explain anything, we had more information from other clients at the bar.
beds are ok.
When taking a shower the whole room will be wet. Do yourself a favour, walk 15 more minutes and stay at banghoek instead. Same price, Lovely staff, breakfast included, swimming pool, cosy place...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gijs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
de Oude Meul Guest House
de Oude Meul Guest House
#100 of 112 in Stellenbosch
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eendracht
Eendracht
#11 of 51 in Stellenbosch
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.4 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#52 of 112 in Stellenbosch
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers

Property: iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers
Address: 56 Bird Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prices are per person per night. As your hosts we know how important it is to choose the backpackers that is just right for YOU! Because backpackers are a special breed, iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers is not just a place to sleep under clean sheets and duvets, but is also a place where chatting into the night whilst quaffing a beer or three sees the start of new friendships. That is why we are called iKhaya - this means "my home" in the local language and it is this spirit that iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers functions – when you are with us, you are with friends. You are at your African Home! In our warm and friendly pub the roots of our African heritage are reflected in the decor. Like all homes our accommodation is clean, neat and caters to your needs from equipped kitchens to airy bathrooms at the best possible value for money. The above because we agree cash should be spent on "Jolling" (Partying and having a good time) and not on plastic wannabe accommodation! Welcome to our continent, our town, and our (yours and our) home - iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers. Why not escape the hustle and bustle of big city life and base yourself here with us at iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers to explore the rest of Western Cape by day and chill with us at night? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your iKhaya Stellenbosch Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing