We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent people”
Review of 10 Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
10 Alexander
Ranked #4 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was extremely satisfied to see that the people at 10 Alexander are kind and professional. The scenery gives a laid back feeling with the sense of security. Food and service was exceptional and I can honestly say that I will visit them again anytime in the future.

Room Tip: The bunk-beds are extremely short, beware not to bump your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MicGarbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Having so many of the cast of a top show at the Woordfees staying here was an absolute joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 461 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

10 Alexander was a B&B to stay at. The walking distance to the mall and the university campus made my stay easier. The hosts were friendly and their enthusiasm every time I saw them was well experienced. Cannot forget the wonderful breakfast we received. The rooms are spacious and well equipped kitchen.
If I'm ever in Stellenbosch again, 10 Alexander is definitely my first choice.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Great view and kitchen and patio area is well allocated. Top rooms are bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

It was an absolute pleasure having you here. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The first thing you will notice upon arriving at Alexander 10 is the beautiful nature site. The garden and swimming pool are well taken care off. Its a quite and relaxing place. They serve delicious breakfast and cater for everyones different taste of breakfast. It is about five minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. one will not regret staying there.

Room Tip: room 1 has one of the best views to the beautiful garden and swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eva-Liisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Our garden is also our favourite place to relax. So glad you enjoyed it too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

After staying at 10Alexander for a few days, it became one of my favourite B&B's. The location is perfect since town is just a 3min-walk away. The gorgeous garden and swimming pool just makes you feel like you are at home, not to mention the breakfast you can tell was made with love. If you are looking for a place to stay in Stellenbosch, look no further than 10Alexander B&B.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

We enjoyed having you here. Thank you the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Second time we stayed at 10 Alexander. But surely not the last.
Good location. Beautiful garden with pool. Very friendly people that runs it.
Breakfast is hard to beat, fruitsallad and warm scones just to mention something.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anneli e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

So glad that your "second opinion" confirmed the first! Thank your staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The B&B offers a well designed room with the option to use a kitchen if needed. It is within walking distance of the center of town but the quiet surroundings created by a lovely pool, garden and patio ensure rest and quietness. No hot breakfast was served but the overall service was excellent with the option to have your table to be set up on the patio. The lovely crockery and attention to detail reflects the passion and enthusiasm of the hosts. Wietske and Paul also understand the art to make you feel at home but at the same time respect the privacy of guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annatjie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I travel often and have frequented numerous B&B’s in my life.
I also relish in dissecting them – looking carefully for little things that might annoy or irritate me – well I looked everywhere but the searched was in vain. So do not waste your time – just enjoy every second.
10 Alexander in Stellenbosch is by far my most favorite place to stay this stage and I do not see any need to ever look for another nest - in fact I will only go to Stellenbosch if I can stay there again.
The 7 star breakfasts are superb - If Wiepske enters any Master Chef competition I will definitely not.
The spaces are charming, cosy, comfortable, the service flawless and the entire place immaculate, well groomed and perfectly situated.

Room Tip: Take any one you can and relax - all of them are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hansie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

What a wonderful review. It is gratifying to know that we lived up to your expectations, and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.6 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twice Central
Twice Central
#1 of 115 in Stellenbosch
168 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
4.7 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#2 of 115 in Stellenbosch
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Alexander

Address: 10 Alexander Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $121 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 10 Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, rustically appointed 10 Alexander is perfectly located to visit local attractions, restaurants and museums on foot. The finest wine farms in South Africa are in close vicinity, as is popular Franschoek, Hermanus and Cape Town . We provide up to date advice on the best restaurants and wine-tasting options, based on feedback from recent guests. All 8 rooms have own its bathrooms, six of which are en-suite. Tea/coffee facilities are available in a fully equipped kitchenette, and we offer a comprehensive bouquet of TV options. Free parking is on-site and secure. We also provide complimentary Wi-Fi in addition to a swimming pool, barbeque and shady patios, with bird watching as a side attraction. 10 Alexander is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of the whole of the Western Cape in a relaxed and ambient setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 10 Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing