We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It feels like home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 10 Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
10 Alexander
Ranked #2 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“It feels like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had a wonderful experience staying at the guesthouse for 3 weeks with a group of friends. Every morning, I looked forward to having breakfast at the guesthouse. There's always a spread for breakfast- it may include muesli, cold cuts, home-made bread, scones, quiche, eggs prepared in a variety of ways, porridge, orange juice and Rooibos tea.

The hosts were very hospitable. They made an effort to introduce some variation in the breakfast so that we do not get sick of having the same food. It was winter during our stay and the hosts made sure that we were sleeping fine and that we had sufficient blankets to keep ourselves warm at night.

There was a variety of facilities in the guesthouse. We used the kitchen frequently. There was a variety of kitchen utensils and pots and pans that served our needs well. We also had a bbq on one night. We could also watch tv and surf the net at the guesthouse.

It was enjoyable staying at the guesthouse and I would definitely return if I'm back at Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChingWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
It was such a pleasure having you here. We look forward to seeing again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    83
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
73
129
29
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed at 10 Alexander for 3 weeks when I was in Stellenbosch for a summer programme. My friends and I - five of us - stayed at the second floor of the guest house. I have to say it was probably the BEST guest house experience I've had!

The guest house was well-equipped. The rooms had cable TV, heater, air conditioning, hairdryer, and even hot water bottles. It was hot back home and winter in Stellenbosch, but the warmth of the rooms made the transition easier. We shared a common kitchen with a fridge, microwave, oven, and ALL the cooking utensils you will ever need. The rooms were cleaned daily.

The service was top-notch. We were welcomed warmly by the hosts, Weitske and Maaika, who were both very friendly and hospitable. Whenever we needed something, they would be quick to respond. We learned so much about South African culture from them as well. I fell sick during my stay and they even recommended a nearby pharmacy for me.

Breakfast was unbelievably good. There was always abundance at the breakfast table, and the food varied from day to day. They even personalised what kind of eggs we wanted.

It was such a great experience and I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone traveling in Stellenbosch. It's near Eikestad mall and Stellenbosch University as well, which is a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joji M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We enjoyed having you here, and your friendliness made it easy to spoil you. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed twice@10 Alexander, I enjoyed it so much that on my second visit I brought along a friend and we planned that when ever we can we will always go back to 10 Alexander. the accommodation is really great with a fully equipped kitchen. Most important the house is within walking distance from town and it's safe to walk @ night too.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1st room on your right as you walk in through the side gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
What a nice review. Thank you. We look forward to spoiling you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at 10 Alexander. The accommodation is pleasant; we stayed in a spacious and light room, with a fully-equipped kitchen in the hallway, which was lovely. The breakfast was royal in both senses of the word, with warm scones, fresh fruit and the best scrambled eggs. The house is within easy walking distance to the centre of Stellenbosch. Thanks to the friendly and welcoming hosts I will definitely stay here again upon my next visit to Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having arrived on an overnight flight from London and worked all day - it was lovely to arrive to a warm welcome. Great breakfast in a delightful dining room overlooking the pool area. Really helpful with luggage as it was the middle of a major downpour. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 426kjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It was lovely having you both here. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We loved staying here. The owners are welcoming, helpful and friendly. The accommodation is excellent...spacious, warm, pleasant....the breakfast awesome.... And the location makes wandering around Stellenbosch easy. All is all an excellent spot.
Thanks heaps

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you Peter. It was lovely having you, and even the weather played its part in welcoming you to Stellenbosch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUDTSHOORN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

After getting up at 04h45 in Oudtshoorn to get to Stellenbosch and vicinity,with a full morning of bussiness and loading plants of 2 nurseries, it was so refreshing and relaxing to be welcomed by Wietske and Paul on a beautiful sunny day at 10 Alexander, located in a peaceful area with only the churchbell anouncing the time!
In the very neat and comfortable room with en suite bathroom, we could have a nice shower to get ready for a big family wedding in the afternoon just outside Stellenbosch.
Late that night we could again experience what it really means to relax: nothing to worry about - our car safely parked within high security fencing and even an owl sitting in the tree on the watch, when we curled up in soft crisp clean white linen and sleep like babies.
In the morning we were so specially treated with a breakfast straight from paradise!
This is a must-stop whenever you're in or around Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWANSTUINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
You are so kind! Thank you for the kind words, and the advice about the yellow leaves on my lemon tree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.6 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Alexander

Property: 10 Alexander
Address: 10 Alexander Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 10 Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, rustically appointed 10 Alexander is perfectly located to visit local attractions, restaurants and museums on foot. Wine farms, Franschoek, Hermanus and Cape Town are in close vicinity. We provide up to date advice of the best reatuarants and wine-tasting options, based on feedback from recent guests. All 8 rooms have own bathrooms, free tea/coffee facilities and a fully equipped kitchen. Parking is on-site and secure. There is a swimming pool, barbeque and a shady patio, with bird watching as a side attraction. Free Wi-fi and TV bouquet, comprising movies and sport. Perfect for a relaxed break-away in a ambient setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 10 Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing