We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Upon arriving at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel I was greeted by the most wonderful, friendly and fun staff. I had the best time chatting with all them and having a laugh during my stay. If I ever needed tips Jo-Anne and the team in reception were most helpful, and happy to do so. The hotel is beautifully furnished and very fancy, but it has a really nice homely and welcoming feel. The rooms are sensational, with everything you could ever desire, and are lovely and quiet and have a really warm feel to them. The food in the restaurant is top notch also. The hotel is right in the heart of Stellenbosch so everything is within walking distance. This is the best hotel and I would not even consider staying anywhere but Coopmanhuijs while staying in Stellenbosch. The hotel itself and hospitality of all the staff is 10/10! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb, some bigger than others, but all really comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Michael H,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Helena’s Restaurant page as well?
You can simply follow http://www.tripadvisor.co.za/Restaurant_Review-g312673-d3840594-Reviews-Helena_s_Restaurant-Stellenbosch_Western_Cape.html to do so.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 870 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very luxurious boutique hotel but with the feeling that you are right at home.
From the homemade pastries, friendly staff and beautiful rooms we enjoyed our stay tremendously and will definitely return.
The location is great - loved the fact that we could park the car and walk through the town exploring.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevieve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Genevieve V,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a very classy boutique hotel in central Stellenbosch with beautiful,comfortable rooms and excellent food at Helena's, maybe the best meal we had in a series of excellent meals during our recent 3 week stay in South Africa. I loved the location, valet parking, attentive staff, wonderful breakfast, and basically everything about the whole environment. I am only sorry I didn't plan a little better so we could have stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmckown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear dmckown,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

+ location, + safe carparking, and very high service level in all departments, very good located in the historical heart of Stellenbosch, where the comfortable becomes the remarkable. The rooms are not the biggest, but very comfertable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 312Terje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear 312Terje,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed three days in luxery, and could easy have been here much longer. Very nice hotel, with high service level, nice staff, and very good admosphere.
We had dinner two nights, on the best place/terrace in town, just outside the hotel. The food and vine was delicious.
We had spa treatment, which absolute was top level.
The room was nice, quirert and with nice balcony with simmingpool lelow.
We will rearly recomment this hotel or its restaurant if you go to Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2nicetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear 2nicetrip,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Helena’s Restaurant page as well?
You can simply follow http://www.tripadvisor.co.za/Restaurant_Review-g312673-d3840594-Reviews-Helena_s_Restaurant-Stellenbosch_Western_Cape.html to do so.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Excellent staff with very attentive service. Nice little spa (steam room & sauna), pool area and valet parking. When we were leaving the car was waiting us on front of the hotel. Breakfast was very good. We had the petite room and they warned us in advance that it was small etc. which is nice so it was not surprise. Everything was perfect even the smallest things that makes the experience memorable!

Room Tip: Go for a room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teesuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear teesuu,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Loved the service in this boutique hotel. Room is nice big comfy bed. Nice wide wine list mostly South African wines. Only downside was the bathroom or shower cubicle windows open up to the restaurant, which i thought was weird.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azmi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Azmi D,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,034 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
938 reviews
0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
339 reviews
0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
680 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $160 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing