We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attentive, gracious service second to none!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“attentive, gracious service second to none!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Likely the most attentive service I have EVER experienced - from our late night check-in that included car parking and a great glass of wine until the time we checked out I cannot imagine better, more attentive service by the staff. Add in a great room,, a first rate complimentary breakfast and a super location, there is simply nothing not-to-like about the Coopmanhuijs. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8 and really liked that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank light42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear light42,

Thank you for the positive feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.
We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Ilzebet Oosthuizen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    165
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
433
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is very well situated, with an excellent in house restaurant. The service is good & staff very friendly & accommodating. The rooms are a tad small but the balcony adds to the comfort. Nice modern bathroom & very comfortable bed. Bit expensive for South Africans but loved my experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shireen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Shireen B,

Thank you for the positive feedback.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Ilzebet Oosthuizen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterswolde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Extremely nice hotel in the middle of Stellenbosch. Old building, very nicely decorated and remodeled. Luxurious rooms, excellent service, very good breakfast and extremely nice and helpful personnel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmvdhulst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
506 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I spent a few days in Stellenbosch with some girlfriends and we stayed at the Coopmanhuijs; we are really glad we did! It's well worth the money. It is quaint, charming, the rooms are very well appointed and the hotel is immaculately clean. Breakfast is delicious and you can't beat the location. We would definitely stay again!

NOTE: It's really nice to have the pool, but it is small and there are only (if memory serves me) 6 lounge chairs. If you don't get one, you are outta luck. A few of the guests there during our stay were "campers" unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalStaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A wonderful little boutique hotel located in the center of Stellenbosh within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel, while small, has a French feel to it, and it you did not know it, you could be in Paris. Rooms and public spaces are indeed small, however. If that doesn't bother you, this is a cozy spot to spend your time in Stellenbosh. We only ate breakfast which was good. Staff were excellent and always ready to meet your needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckv500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was a fabulous visit to Stellenbosch. The only problem we had was with the ome way system but that was our issue, fabulous place to stay and great food. The staff are so welcolming - fabulous place to stay

Room Tip: As far as I am aware all rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was quite close to Cape Town airport and have not been disappointed. The staff were very helpful over something I left on the plane. As it was Valentines Day all the restaurants claimed to be fully booked but the hotel managed to squeeze us in and we had the Valentines Special which made a wonderful start to our holiday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing