We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, great weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Very friendly, great weekend away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great stay here for 2 nights. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and made sure we were happy during our stay. Location is perfect and you can walk around Stellenbosch easily. The rooms are very nice with a great bed and a balcony where we could actually enjoy the sun! A very nice breakfast and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_HCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    158
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
84
419
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
778 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This is quite a special little place, very well situated for a visit to central Stellenbosch. Quality linen, very comfortable and charming room.

The breakfast is also great, and they quickly made a plan and produced a great English breakfast when the electricity was cut in Stellenbosch at 8am, breakfast-time. They need a power generator at this level of hotel.

The service at breakfast was charming, Libby does a great job. Unfortunately I cannot say the same about Wonder at the front desk, he always appeared somewhat bewildered. This morning I phoned at 7 am to see whether they have newspapers, and even when these arrived shortly thereafter, he did not bother to send me a paper. One should not only have received a newspaper of your choice at this level of hotel, he could have sent it to my room, seeing that I phoned for one!

Great place, they should however attend to the front desk. They need another Libby!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Found the Hotel by mistake as I was in another hotel just close by. I must say it was one of the good mistakes I have made in the last few weeks! The environment is very warm inside, not only in terms of the temperature, but starting with the entire staff. The way everyone interacts with you, it makes you feel at home away from home. Extremely friendly staff and always ready to help, and always with a genuine smile!
The hotel itself is well located in the heart of Stellenbosch, very clean inside, and with heated floors in the bathrooms, which is quite handy in Cape Town's winter.
I had the opportunity to try the breakfast, and again, it was good and with an acceptable variety.
There is a free fast internet wireless service, which is indeed "fast", and good variety of TV channels in the rooms.
Thank you guys, I had a real good time in Stellenbosch, and mostly thanks to you, so be assured that I will be back...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked my wife and I into this little boutique hotel for one night after we returned from separate trips overseas. The idea was to just get away from all that was waiting for us at home and enjoy a cosy hotel, watch TV or something and eat good food. The Coopmanhuijs did not disappoint in any area. From the moment we walked in we were treated like royalty. All the staff were super friendly, helpful and proficient. As the hotel is in the heart of the trendy part of Stellenbosch, walking out the friend door you will find yourself faced with many options for lunch or dinner. The hotel has some parking bays so just give your keys to management and they will park your car so you need not worry about security or finding parking anywhere. You will not need your car as most of what you would want to see is in easy walking distance. Breakfast is wonderful so be sure to leave sufficient time in your schedule to sample a bit of everything on the buffet table and cooked breakfasts from the menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The 5 star boutique hotel is well located right in the heart of Stellenbosch in Church Street, within walking distance to a host of lovely shops and restaurants. Guests have the option of 3 different room types: Petite Rooms, Classic Courtyard Rooms and Classic Manor Rooms – totaling 16 rooms. Each room is carefully finished with a welcome note, Charlotte Rhys amenities, under-floor heating in the bathrooms, fully stocked mini-bar (additional cost), romantic turn down, and separate toilet to bathroom.

The hotel has everything you need from dining options in the newly vamped restaurant, a spa with a 2 treatment rooms, sauna and steam room, wine and lounge bar, free internet, swimming pool, valet parking and very wheelchair friendly.

The staff by far ensured your every need was met, and welcomed you with a smile and open arms. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

I highly recommend this property, for a romantic weekend away in the winelands. Just remember to close the bedroom windows at night, before tucking in for the night if your room faces the street.

Room Tip: Stay away from a street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was the second stay at this establishment,the previous one being some time ago. We,that is my wife and i were keen to see if the establishment was up to the same standard as it was before. We were pleasantly surprised-not only was it up to the same standards but was even better. We also dined in the hotel one evening and this was an excellent meal served by first class waiters

Room Tip: We had room no 5. This was one of the better rooms but could be a bit noisy in the evenings as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I'm not sure why this place had such great reviews. We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in May. The location is supurb and I do appreciate the property's beauty and history but...

rooms - uhm... my husband and I are not large people... We booked one of the larger rooms (I think most rooms are "larger" and they have 2 smaller rooms) but we didn't even really have space to open our suitcase. It was so clausterphobic in there that we tried to only go back to the room to sleep. The common areas of the hotel also feel very tight with very narrow hallways. It was quite a relief when we moved to the asara hotel for the next leg of our trip..

service - I found this quite average. People were polite but I did not feel they were nearly as friendly as the other hotels we stayed in in S.Africa. In fact I don't remember engaging in any conversation with the staff here at all!

breakfast - not terrible but was by far the worst of the 4 hotels I stayed at on this trip. The cold food was ok. there was a good selection of fruits, breads/pastires, cerials, cheese and coldcuts. For the hot breakfast my husband and I both ordered omlettes which were overly salty, dry, and just not worth eating when there's so much good food elsewhere in stellenbosch. For the second day we didn't even bother with the hot food and suck to the cold options.

spa - given this hotel is "coopmanhuijs boutique hotel and spa" I assumed they would have proper spa facilities. When I tried to book a couple's spa, I was told they only have one masseuse and that we could either take turns getting a massage or they could hire an external masseuse to come to the property. We gave this a miss and went to a proper spa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yamachika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing