We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$147
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$124
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$105
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$140
$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$69
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$97
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devon Valley Hotel(Stellenbosch)
$131
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beautiful South Guest House(Stellenbosch)(Great Value!)
$49
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
905 results
Traveler rating
665
184
32
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
184
32
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelena's restaurantchurch streetperfect hotelgeneral managersmall hotelmiddle of towncentral locationsmall roomlovely townexcellent locationwonderful stayrestaurants and shopshome from homewine countryattention to detailcape townexcellent breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
779 - 784 of 905 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

When we first checked in at Coopmanhuijs, we knew we would have a wonderful experience--the staff is welcoming and highly capable, the rooms are lovely, and the location is perfect to enjoy this beautiful town. When we had an unfortunate medical emergency, the entire staff rallied to assist us, coordinating the ambulance, shuttling me back and forth to the hospital where my husband was a patient, and giving special help and encouragement which was much needed. The manager and staff at Coopmanhuijs went far, far beyond what could be expected, and they will forever have a special place in my heart. I recommend the hotel wholeheartedly and without reservation.

Room Tip: My room with a small balcony overlooking the pool and beautiful trees was lovely, but I expect you can't go wrong at Coopmanhuijs if you make you preferences known in advance.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our first overnight visit to Stellenbosch. Coopmanhuijs was one of the two places recommended to us by friends, who live in Stellebosch. We got the last two rooms, and were very grateful for that. Hotel has excellent location - in the heart of Stellenbosch, yet in a very quiet street.We travelled with our 2 children (6, 17), and had overall fantastic experience at Coopmanhuijs, with the convenience of having our children staying in a room next door. Lovely air-conditioned rooms with underfloor heating, which came handy in those cold winter nights, felt like home. Beautiful interior, exquisite fresh flower arrangements and exceptionally helpful staff made our stay truly superb.The "Coopmanhuijs Bishop", who was also the doorman, the chauffeur, the bartender and the waiter, took care of us from arrival till departure. Breakfast was excellent and we wish to have stayed there for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMVDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is quite simply the most wonderful hotel. The rooms are beautiful; relatively large, and furnished to cater every need.

Service is bespoke; the best I have ever experienced at a hotel. Staff bent over backwards to assist with every request, and always went the extra mile to ensure that our needs were met. Even minor issues with the room (e.g. Wi-Fi not working on arrival) were quickly rectified, and turned into a positive - the staff offered to temporarily close the lounge so that we could make a call home (and provide us with drinks!). Similarly, an engineer was called out to rectify the problem immediately.

The hotel was so fantastic that we found an excuse to return for another night later on during our holiday, and will undoubtedly seek to return in the future.

Room Tip: Courtyard room during main stay was larger and significantly quieter than the smaller room we booked on the second occasion (although this room was still sufficiently comfortable for a 1 night stay)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited our son Daniel, who is busy with his masters degree in Mechanical engineering.We live in KwaZulu Natal - quite far from Stellenbosch.He is really working very hard and hasn't been home since Dec 2011. He lives in Stellenbosch in a granny flat.
With us staying at Coopmanhuiys it really felt like home. Daniel had breakfast with us every morning. If he had a few minutes free he would pop in for a cup of coffee and a biscuit.Even late at night he would pop in for a " night cap " The staff was always friendly and keen to make you feel at home, AND THEY DID.
The interior is smart, stylish , cosy and warm

This was our second stay at Coopmanhuijs and we can't wait to go back again. We stayed for 6 days and it felt like we have been on a 14 days holiday !!!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the Street
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great location, great hotel, great food and great massage but most importantly great staff. And at the center of this warm hospitality we found Ilzebet with her vibrant energy. Hospitality to the extend that one rarely finds. A real home away from home. A place to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmindaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews