We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an exceptionally good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is an exceptionally good hotel!”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

If you are looking for a comfortable, friendly and tasteful small hotel in a superb town location, then look no further! The wonderful staff greet you as long lost friends rather than as hotel clients, yet they never intrude and offer generous and sound advice. We felt at home from day 1 for our week long visit that combined business with some outings. Our room was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and a large modern shower room. Breakfast was of a high standard and as big as you wanted it to be. Stellenbosch is a charming small town which appears clean and safe. Everything in the town can including restaurants, shops and the university conference facilities can be easily reached on foot but you will need a car if you want to venture further. There are two major car hire establishments within 100yards of the hotel. ****** Go on - treat yourself!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_UK_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    160
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
85
426
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

As a group of friends looking for somewhere to unwind at the end of our holiday we found the perfect place in Coopmanhuijs!
It is centrally located with plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance, some of us enjoyed the spa facilities and we even tried the pool even though it was winter and not really warm enough!
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially our waiter at breakfast. There is free internet and also secure parking. The rooms were lovely, big beds, large shower, underfloor heating.
Definitely a place we would return to.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

From the moment we arrived the staff just wanted us to relax even the registration paperwork was in our room to complete at our leisure. Absolutely central just moments from shops, bars, restaurants and sights. Our car was parked for us and the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 10 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Good Day ,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.Our aim is to give every guest a memorable experience,we are happy to hear that you indeed had just that. We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2011

What a lovely atmosphere - I spent my birthday weekend there and it was the best ever. The staff were wonderful, friendly and really warm and helpful. The food was outstanding and I have not eaten anything better.
I will be back - hopefully in Summer to swim in the lovely pool....
However Winter is a lovely time there as well - the warm and inviting lounge with the fire was the best.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.Our aim is to give every guest a memorable experience,we are happy to hear that you indeed had just that. We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Coopmanhuijs was just what I had been looking for - central Stellenbosch, lovely rooms with all those extra touches, friendly, helpful staff, a spa for relaxing treatments and much more. It would have been good value anyway but with a Winter deal, it was even better.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble as well as the facilities being great. So pleased I found it. Thanks so much for a great weekend away with the girls.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.Our aim is to give every guest a memorable experience,we are happy to hear that you indeed had just that.
We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My girlfriend and had the pleasure of staying at Coopmanhuijs in April 2011.

It’s is a beautiful boutique hotel situated in the heart of Stellenbosch. The staff is friendly and cordial and the hotel stylishly decorated. There is a lot of olde world charm in the reception area, lounge, and kitchen.

The room was luxurious with a large dramatic bed and a soft comfortable duvet. We especially enjoyed our balcony which overlooks the centre of Stellenbosch and from where one can experience the beauty of it’s trees. At night the area is buzzing with activity and there is a abundance of restaurants and shops. On the day we left my girlfriend had a back and neck massage at the spa and judging by her calm and glow the rest of the day it seems that this also had the desired effect :-)

We especially enjoyed being treated so well by their staff. I would like to extend a special thanks to Ilzebet who is one of the nicest and most friendly people we’ve ever met at a hotel. I would highly recommend Coopmanhuijs for people who enjoy luxury but who also likes to be treated with down-to-earth great service. I give this place 6 stars for both location and exceptional service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eugenevdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.Our aim is to give every guest a memorable experience,we are happy to hear that you indeed had just that.
We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
221 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This is a great hotel in every aspect. Our well appointed room had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The bathroom was huge and had very high quality fixtures and a wonderful shower. There was a large hallway in our room while the living space was average sized. We also had a nice balcony overlooking the pool.

The common areas are decorated in traditional tones and looked very classy. Everything was extremely clean including two sitting rooms off the entrance. The free breakfast was amazing with a very sizable assortment of hot and cold options. We wished they were open for lunch and dinner (you need to make an appointment in advance). There is also an attached spa - I had a very nice massage at a reasonable rate. The only drawbacks I recall were the spotty in-room internet reception and the lack of a fitness room.

The hotel is right in the heart of Stellenbosch so you can walk to everything. We are looking forward to a return visit at the Coopmanjuijs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home2wn, Marketing Assistant at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.Our aim is to give every guest a memorable experience,
we are very happy to hear that you indeed had just that.
We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing