We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jordan Restaurant

Jordan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: George Jardine from his Cape Town buisness has opened a new restraunt
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon in Han 2013, and til now we still talk about the mussels appetizer and soufflé dessert! Serious must-try's. The view is gorgeous too and do book early... We booked 2 days before and were lucky we could even get a seat (sadly not right next to the balcony)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    163
    58
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had only heard good things about the this restaurant so we decided to celebrate our Anniversary there yesterday. Let me start by saying that it is a beautiful place with very good service. However the food is a typical case of beautiful to look at, but lacking in flavor. The only dish that delivered on taste was the mussels starter which my wife had and it was excellent. I had the Blesbok carpaccio. There is so much confusion on this plate that I couldn't taste the Blesbok. Seriously, sometimes less is more. Let your main ingredient speak for itself. For mains we both had the sirloin. This was a brilliant piece of meat, sadly it was under-seasoned and covered in a overpowering jus. Again there is so much extra on the plate that adds nothing to the flavor, only the looks. The herb crust [ which was, I think, just pesto] was tasteless as all we could taste was the jus. The signature lemon and poppy seed souffle again looks brilliant, and is served very nicely, but lacks a bit of flavor. The cheese board was very good. The wines are outstanding.
It is a pity that this kitchen puts all their love into their presentation, and not enough into the taste of their food.

It is a pity really.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely lunch here a while back, as friends of us got married here (they do not usually do weddings). Even though it was a rainy day; we thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon with loads of great canapes and wine, as the restaurant is set on a hill in the beautiful winelands.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nemrac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Utterly splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a birthday lunch here. The setting is immaculate, and very peaceful.
The food was sublime: interesting, tasty, and unique. For whatever it's worth, food that you just couldn't make yourself is always, at the least, worth a look. This is so much more: I have eaten at the Chef's previous restaurant, and was equally blown away.
WIne was great, and service excellent.
Certainly, a little pricy, but I absolutely felt I got my money's worth, and can't wait to return.
I should add that we were mostly vegetarian, and felt very well catered for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeTownCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for a romantic lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

While driving from Cape Town we stopped at Jordan, hoping to get a table. There is a small, casual deli spot here to get a sandwich and some superb wine. And there is a nicer patio on which one can spend a couple of hours eating fantastic food, drinking superb wine, and getting incredibly attentive service. For the patio, one needs a reservation. We were lucky; there was a cancelation, so we sat on the patio. Ah, the view! One looks out at the vineyard, a lake, and the mountains. The food is among the best in the wine country. Fish, meat, game, you name it, all delicious and prepared with great originality. The high point was the desert--a poppy seed soufflé, perfectly prepared and brought to the table by the chef herself. You'd have a hard time finding a nicer spot for a long lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank whaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Jordan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing