We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to Jordan to enjoy the view, not the food!”
Review of Jordan Restaurant

Jordan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 258 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: George Jardine from his Cape Town buisness has opened a new restraunt
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Go to Jordan to enjoy the view, not the food!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having been ill for a month we decided to treat ourselves to a day out in Stellenbosch to do some shopping and enjoy a really nice lunch out for a change. Of all the marvellous restaurants in that area we chose Jordan with George Jardine. What a mistake! There is no doubting that the view from the restaurant is stunning and well worth the visit. However, while the menu looked promising, my duck starter looked like muddy blobs on the plate and didn't taste much better than it looked. But worse was to come...

We both chose the sirloin beef, said to be the best quality Chalmar. It was tough and stringy and we pointed this out when we were asked if we were enjoying the meal. No one came out from the kitchen to hear our complaints. Not only was the meat of poor quality, the whole presentation on our plates looked bland, brown, and boring. The marrowbone was overpowering and the other vegetables were unattractive. All in all, very disappointing, especially as the bill came to more than R700 -- and this for just two courses and a glass each of Jordan wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    165
    61
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly a gourmet lunch.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently treated ourselves to the four course lunch with two glasses of wine. This restaurant provides you with top notch food, views of the valley and views of the detailed prep of the food being prepared. The wait staff are attentive but not too much so. There is a fine balance there. Each dish is carefully prepared and is a work of art. I want to take photos of each one to show my family and friends! The wine is also a significant part of this experience. Cathy and Gary Jordan are very talented wine makers. This restaurant is number one in our experience eating in the area. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation now!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday splendour”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Visited this restaurant for Sunday lunch and absolutely loved it - food is very fresh, imaginative menu and wholesome. Savoured every dish with great wine, our favourite of our trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank etraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“beautiful lunch”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was my third visit, and it was as amazing as before. Really great food with good wine and first class service.
Perfect for a beautiful lunch with a view (and even better on a sunny day!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patap0uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with great food and service”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We enjoyed Jordan Restaurant's Winter Special - 4 courses with 2 glasses of wine which we found very reasonable. The restaurant is located in beautiful Stellenbosch with a stunning view of the surrounding mountains. The food was fantastic with superb presentation. Our mushroom soup starter was superb and light - this followed by hake fish with a tasty creamy sauce. The fish was cooked to perfection. This followed by a slow cooked springbok knuckle and for dessert a chocolate torte which was light and airy. Our waiter, Benedict, was great in explaining every dish and was very attentive to all our needs. We will definitely be back in future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emile_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Jordan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing