We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch on Thursday 7th March”
Review of Jordan Restaurant

Jordan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: George Jardine from his Cape Town buisness has opened a new restraunt
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch on Thursday 7th March”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Barn of a place. Packed- with very ordinary food. Will not go again. How do places like this get 3 stars?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikolaus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    165
    58
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“George is a genius!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Incredible food, the flavours are out of this world! With a menu changing daily, it's such an exciting experience as is always new. Beautiful setting, superb service! 10/10

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a very disappointing evening. The setting of the restaurant is superb, but then quite a few other restaurants in Stellenbosch have spectacular views as well. The sommelier was charming, however the food was underwhelming. Unlike a lot of the other restaurants, the chef at Jordans, only has produce a six course tasting menu. In simpler terms everyone in the restaurant is eating the same thing (practically at the same time - indeed we waited between courses so that the rest of our 'sitting' were ready to continue with their next course) Other winery restaurants, which we visited, not only do a tasting menu, but also do al la carte and even set menus. Although the dishes looked as pretty as a picture, by giving giving us all the same menu it makes life much easier for the restaurant. Also, and this is just hugely pinnickerty of me, to see all the plates laid out on the serving hatch and each individual chef put his/her finished product on the plates is a little off putting - I know this happens in restaurants, but the finished dish, which consists of anything from 6 plus articles has been handled (without gloves) by 6 plus pairs of hands. This was the most expensive dinner we had during our time in Stellenbosch and not the best food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella_and_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mind Blowing - Amazing”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This venue is truely a blissful place. The meal was sublime. Totally mind blowing. Chef George Jardine and his team, watching them is like watching an amazing cheorgraphy. The venue was breath taking. Chef George - had sent little tasty treats out to us that just kept getting better and better. The food was art on a plate and just played with your taste buds. Yes I cannot wait for my next lunchoen there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princess474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lunch again on this wonderful wine estate!The weather was Scottish ,so I spent more time watching George Jardine and his team preparing the food than admiring the vista.I loved it all and was even tempted by dessert, heavenly selection of ice creams. A very professional and attentive service.No wonder one needs to book weeks in advance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishMyszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Jordan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing