We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest House in Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
22 Die Laan Accommodation
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The 22 Die Laan Guest House is very well kept and clean. I was delayed by 24 hours, but that was no problem. The decor is beautiful and everyone is very friendly. You can stay in the guesthouse's main areas even after check out and they have a safe in the office to store valuables. There are also safes in each room. It's an easy walk to the university (c. 10 mins) and it's near to the Botanic Gardens. The pool is not particularly large. Photos tend to elongate it. My room opened out directly onto the dining/seating area. This was not a problem as the other guests were quiet, but there is no carpeting and so little noise reduction. Overall, the level of service was excellent and the staff were friendly. The Avenue/Die Laan seems to be a dog leg street. The guesthouse is on the main bit along the river, which is actually called The Avenue on signposts. Out of town taxi drivers get a bit confused by this.

Room Tip: The room Ounin opens right on to the main area. The other rooms are tucked a bit further away.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
22DIELAANGUESTHOUSE, Owner at 22 Die Laan Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Helen, thank you so much for your very valuable and constructive review. I appreciate the detail with which you commented, and take cognisance of your observations.
Kindest regards
Ounin Arndt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for 22 Die Laan Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Nice clean rooms with comfortable beds and brand new clean bathrooms including a rain shower and a seperate bathtub. Several opportunities to relax and talk. Very flexibel and friendly stuff.
I will definitely come back

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Coming from Canada, I have had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Die Laan Guest House in Stellenbosch. They are not only amazing hosts but treat their guest as friends. I am grateful for such a safe and beautiful place to spend the weekend and would highly recommend it to anyone! Thank you again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Rooms very nice, breakfast great, bad huge, free wine after two nights.

Room Tip: Free Internet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Extraordinary attention to detail signifies the commitment levels from the owner and her staff. Your stay can therefore only be extraordinary.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the swimming pool
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

When we arrived it was like coming home to someone we already knew. It was with warmth and kindness we were treated. A very cosy place I really could recomend. Very close to the center of Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Excellent reception from the staff members. You just feel at home away from home due to the fact that the members call you by name as soon as you enter their door.

The accomodation is perfectly suiterble for bussiness, friends, couple and solo trip. The area is absolutly nice, safe and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally quiter and large enough. They are also well packed and your laggage has cuboards...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
855 reviews
3.9 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#6 of 113 in Stellenbosch
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 22 Die Laan Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Die Laan Accommodation

Address: 22 Die Laan Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $107 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 22 Die Laan Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on personal service and going the extra mile for our guests. Ideally located in the historical Avenue, next to the peaceful Eerste River Few minutes’ walk from town where all the restaurants, shops and galleries can be found 2 blocks away from the University and within very easy walking distance from STIAS A couple of meters away from Coetzenburg Sport Stadium and Danie Craven Rugby Stadium Few minutes’ drive from the Stellenbosch Medi-Clinic and the R44 Here luxury meets the most modern facilities, enabling you to completely relax in this home-away-from-home FREE high speed Wi-Fi Internet Satellite TV Air conditioning Heated towel rails in the bathrooms Bath robes Warm water bottles Swimming Pool Fire Place Dining room Lounge Areas Patio Although Self Catering, we do have a Breakfast Option All rooms have Micro wave ovens Kettles Toasters Egg boilers Guests have full access to our kitchen Serviced everyday, Monday – Friday, except for Public Holidays and weekends ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your 22 Die Laan Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing