We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Country location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Country location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very pleasant stay at this beautiful location. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Restaurant is very average, but there are many top restaurants in the area. Ask for extra blankets in Winter. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, which was great, but minimal kitchen facilities make this not truly self-catering. Big notice: staff do not do the dishes!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    137
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
61
121
8
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable, quiet and nice dark curtains so we never woke up early with the sun after a wedding the night before. The breakfast the next morning was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at Devonvale as part of our wine tour road trip from cape town. It was a good comfortable room. What stood out was the property giving a royal princely feel. The dinner at restaurant was amazing along with an awesome red wine,which we selected after a session of wine tasting. The chef came personally to discuss our liking as we needed some customization of predefined dishes. The morning buffet was excellent,having food on terrace overlooking the green meadow like golf course.the property was lush green and as huge as far ur sight cud go.there were springboek running inside d campus.to sum it up,it was just brilliant and would HV loved to stay more.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vishalhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed in an apartment and enjoyed the space very much. Interior décor was very pleasing. Staff was very friendly, especially in the restaurant - most helpful and cheerful - the evening staff was fabulous. Will most definitely recommend your hotel and is also centrally located for the winelands.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent clean accommodation.We stayed in a one bedroon suite and it was light airy and very well equipped. Lovely view and outdoor area.We were going to a wedding at Nooitgedacht and a shutlle was also arranged by the hotel . We will definately be going back again !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank June325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at Devonvale, in a standard room, for 3 nights. The rooms are very nicely decored and the bed was so comfortable, I wanted to take it home with me. The staff in the restaurant and bar could not have done enough for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife, a disabled person, and I slept in the hotel the evening of 24 May - the reception service was very poor. Toilets in the bedrooms are obstructed by the shower and makes access difficult. After asking reception for a room where access to the toilet is not obstructed it was recommended that we upgrade to a more expensive room - this was mostly unfair to openly discriminate against a disabled person!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jan_eloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther P, Manager at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Mr E. booked our Petite Hotel Room, which is our smallest room at Devonvale Golf Lodge

Mr E. called already during the week and asked if the room can accommodate a disabled person. The receptionist informed Mr E. that he booked the smallest room which won’t have enough space and informed about the bigger room!

On arrival Mr E. had a look at the room and saw that the room was not wheelchair friendly (which was already indicated when he called!)
Gladine the lady on duty at arrival showed Mr E. a room which is more suitable for a wheelchair and he agreed that this apartment would be perfect.

Mr E. than insisted to pay the same price as for the Petite Hotel room, but the apartment-suite, which we showed cost slightly more.

Gladine than explained that she has to speak to me at first how we can assist as she cannot make those decisions on her own. I then suggested a discounted rate on the suite which the receptionist was busy explaining when he started swearing and attacked her with words. Mr E. cancelled angry his Petite Hotel Room (Petite stays for small!!) as we did not give the suite to the same price than the Petite Hotel Room

But we still offered Mr & Mrs Eloff the suite where he could change for a wedding. We accommodated the couple as much we could as they used the suite without paying for the room or for the keys which they took and didn't give back.

It is sad that we should get the blame as we informed Mr E. from beginning that he booked the smallest and cheapest room which is not suitable for a wheelchair – we don't feel responsible as we do not advertise our rooms as wheelchair friendly.
We do have regular guests who are handicapped and love to stay at our place, but they book the suite which much bigger but cost slightly more !

If Mr E. would have had a nicer attitude without swearing and being disgracing towards my staff we would probably have given the big room for the same rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
1.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
4.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
5.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Property: Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Address: Bottelary Road, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing