We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The rooms were very modern and big enough! The ground are very well looked after and I look forward to using all the facilities when our wedding group returns in May. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and had fantastic food and service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    144
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
63
125
9
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed 3 nights as we had a wedding nearby. Beautiful setting, comfortable room, very helpful and friendly staff. We had a really good meal one evening in the restaurant, great golf course and lovely swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

One night was too short for this luxury! The rooms are spacious and clean, the bed extremely comfortable and the staff very friendly. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and very well priced. I will return for another stay, this time with golf and spa treatments!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was my third time at Devonvale and i'm sure I will return. The rooms are nice and gets cleaned everyday. The housekeepers even take care of our dishes. Great pool area, inexpensive prices at the restaurant and very friendly staff. The view from the restaurant is great also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Per T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spend a night at this hotel, when we had a wedding close by. The room was impeccably clean, the bed extremely comfortable and the service was brilliant. It was one of the quietest stays we have ever had at an hotel, with no doors banging in the early morning. We did not spend enough time to explore the grounds, but if you want to be assured of a good nights sleep, you've come to the right place.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend of golf and spa treatments. We were a company of about 20 people and the stay was lovely. The elegant and luxurious rooms were great. The receptionist were very helpful. The food fantastic and the staff friendly. We would definately visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We visited Devonvale with our two small children. We initially booked for 3 nights but then extended for another three as we were enjoying it so much. The rooms are all newly refurbished and pleasantly decorated, the staff were excellent and could not have done more to make us feel welcome, and the whole place is very child friendly, although they clearly don't target families as they only had one high chair. Our two bedroom suite was a stones throw from the pool (which has a fence around it so very secure), and we based ourselves on the lawn in front of it and the kids ran around all day having a great time. The spa is also quite good and has a very competent lady running it that knows her business. My only negative was that there were quite a few mistakes on our bill, which all got sorted out but did lead to a slightly jarring note on leaving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helisimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
580 reviews
4.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
378 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Property: Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Address: Bottelary Road, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing