We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, average food”

The Restaurant At Neethlingshof
Ranked #87 of 255 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: With sweeping views over the historic Stellenbosch winelands and surrounding mountains, Lord Neethling Restaurant offers a cuisine experience not to miss. The Manor House built in 1814 is now a national monument. The setting is ideal for smaller functions such as private dinners, smaller weddings with no dancing, workshops and similar events. Each private dining room can seat approximately 36 guests.
George, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, average food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We got married at this venue a couple of years back, and returned to sample their food again. The service was very good and fast. We were seated inside (although there were lots of tables just waiting to be filled outside). The menu is huge and we found it difficult to decide on a meal, but ultimately, the food was just above passable (mostly over-seasoned). Overall, not a bad place to spend a lazy afternoon

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic views and tasty food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

You cannot but effuse about the beauty of the setting of The Lord Neethling Restaurant, nestled within the Neethlingshof Wine Estate; it is indeed a place of tranquillity and beauty.
The tree-lined avenue on the way up to the restaurant just fills one with anticipation of what is to follow.

The nearby mountains and surrounding vineyards just add to the beauty of the location.
The old property that houses the restaurant, date-stamped with 1814 on the gable, painted white and architecturally Cape Dutch in style, sets the tone for a relaxing and enjoyable lunch.
Ushered to our table set on the stoep shaded by trees, a blessing on a hot Stellenbosch summer’s day, the resplendence of the locale is in full view.

With a choice of an a la carte menu or a more casual light lunch menu, I was drawn to the variety and opulence of the more formal offerings.

After a degree of procrastination and mind-changing, I selected the salmon and avocado tartar with black olive tapenade and home-baked seed loaf for my entrée, priced on the menu at R55. It was light, refreshing and the coalescence of the flavours worked particularly well, the tapenade was perfectly tempered to compliment the overall flavours of what was a delicious dish.

The stunning views and busy ambience of the restaurant only added to the overall enjoyment of the food and the amiable and efficient staff were a perfect reminder of how good service adds so much to a meal.

Surrounded by the vineyards in the shadows of the Cape Dutch structures, my main course choice, in my mind anyway, was complimentary to its environs. Chicken and prawn curry, with rice naturally and servings of chutney and coconut rolled banana slices, on the menu at R109, a true consummation a la paradise.

The curry was both qualitative and quantitative, delectable and taste bud teasing with the smallest, though noticeable bite. The quantitative side of things beat me however and with dessert beckoning, I sadly had to leave a little of the curry on the plate.

Dessert was another challenge all of its own, an array of mouth-watering dishes designed to make the choice nay impossible. Lord Neethling’s Surprise at R42 fascinated me, for neither love nor money; I could not get our waitron to divulge the surprise. Hesitantly, I went for it. Sworn to secrecy I can only tell you that it was stupendous, you won’t regret it. In fact you will regret nothing at The Lord Neethling Restaurant, a truly magical and enjoyable experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TweetCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lord Neethling Restaurant”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful Seafood Platter at this restaurant a few months ago. The serving was very generous and accompanied by a fresh mixed salad. It was a perfect day and we were able to sit on the verandah (patio) and enjoy the view while we had our meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expected more, left disappointed”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Flowers on table wilted, waitron can't explain the menu, food presentation disappointing and taste only average. One order messed up totally and meat dish too tough to eat. No response from catering manager when comments submitted. It was our first visit and certainly did not live up to our expectation and the reputation of the facility - pity it is such a lovely venue.

Helpful?
Thank Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Expected more, nice setting though”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Although the food was ok I had expected more.
The setting is quite nice, the service could really be better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant At Neethlingshof also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to The Restaurant At Neethlingshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing