We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

96 Winery Road Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 272 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The iconic winelands restaurant,great views of the local Helderberg and a firm favourite amongst the Stellenbosch locals for the past 15 years and still wowing the faithful. A firm reputation for outstanding, friendly service, great food, wonderful steaks and remarkably good value, with the best selection of wines.Frequent award winner and each dining area has a cosy fireplace for the winter.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have been to 96 in winter with the log fires burning, giving it a cosy warm feel and in summer where there is a lovely terrace and garden. The food is excellent -especially if you are a steak fan- and the staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Best to book, especially weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 473 of 828 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a very enjoyable meal here, however the service could have been better. We did not stay for dessert because of the service. However, our meals were great - and my husband's steak was one of the best steaks either of us have ever tasted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KJR1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

If you want a great steak dinner, go here. The place has a friendly, mediterranean feel, good service and wines, but the beef is what you go for.

Thank Sammywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Went there for dinner on wednesday night with my husband. We couldnt get a booking at rust en vrede, jordans, overture etc. The food itself was of a decent quality and well portioned. The service was terrible. We had a booking at 8pm, left our hotel late and got lost on the way, eventually arrived at 9pm. We chose to sit outside because the weather was perfect. Our waitress was beyond terrible! It got to the stage where we were scared to ask her for anything! We werent offered any bread with our meal and when we asked her for it she said she would have to see if there was any left in the kitchen! Rolled her eyes when we asked for balsamic and olive oil and didnt provide any butter! We were jealous of the service at the other wait staff inside whom looked as though they actually wanted to be there. It got to the stage where it was uncomfortable for us to be there! We put the attitude down to the fact that she didnt appreciate us arriving late because it meant she would have to stay longer! Disappointing because the food was quite good. We ordered the biltong spiced cappaccio and calamari for entree, steaks for main. The service ruined our whole experience. We come to stellenbosch every year. This restaurant really needs to see how rust en vrede train their staff and take a leaf out of their book!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
96Allan, Owner at 96 Winery Road Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Emma N,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our restaurant. I am so glad you enjoyed your meal but totally embarrassed by the service your received from our waitress. We are known for our unpretentious, friendly service and have often been told we are a home away from home due to the warm service our guests experience. There is absolutely no excuse for one of our customers to be treated this way because someone is having a bad day! We have taken it up with the waitress in question. Next time you are in Stellenbosch please give either Allan or Natasha a call as we would love to have you back, so you can enjoy the true 96 Winery Road experience. Please accept our sincere apologies and know that we take feedback of this nature very seriously.
Kindest regards,
Allan and Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Unpretentious and delicious. We were expecting much and it delivered. we all left happy, even the vegetarian.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Smiler023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 96 Winery Road Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to 96 Winery Road Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing