We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night during the week and we had an awesome experience. Peaceful and tranquil come to mind. The manager was very attentive and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys feeling extra specialt, phenomenal service and awesome food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    54
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
234
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a blissful weekend at the Wild Mushroom - nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they looked after our every need with a smile! From the wonderful massages and food to making sure we had a place to read our books by the fire and arranging amazing locals to take us on tours, it was all fantastic! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TandT35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spent 1 night at Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel and then had a Father's Day breakfast with my dad and sister. Michel was very attentive and friendly and my dad appreciated being received with an umbrella in the pouring rain. The room was stunning and bathroom really special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LizelDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Michel the manager could not be more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and every restuarant and vineyard he recommended was spectacular. Hotel was lovely. Pool area amazing. Food was wonderful. Our room was comfortable and bathroom very modern with lovely toiletries

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madisonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wonderful hospitality! When in Stellenbosch, do stay here!
Beautiful and stylish well appointed room with an oppulant bathroom. Double shower, persian carpet on bathroom floor, seperate toilet. Under floor heating throughout the room and bathroom.
Crisp white linnen and towels. Attention to detail!
Michel very attentive, friendly and helpful. Rest of staff very professional and friendly.
Fabulous breakfast.
Beautiful views!
What more do you want? Do'nt even think! Make sure you stay here or else you will miss out on a very luxurious and enjoyable stay!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILIKETRAVEL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

A lovely venue which is really well run and staff were both professional and efficient. Michel was a pleasure! Gorgeous rooms with a beautiful fireplace. The plugs and mirrors were a little mismatched making blow drying of hair difficult. Lovely breakfast. We didn't really use the other facilities but overall had a lovely break away evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrismith, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful place with good security and wonderful views of the winelands and surrounding mountains. Clean and spacious rooms with underfloor heating and en-suite bathroom, with everything that I required. Excellent personal service from Michel, including a telephone call after I have booked out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Werner V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
4.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel

Property: The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Address: 39 Digteby Estate | Vlottenburg Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing