We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality, cosy and comfortable accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at the Wild Mushroom over the Easter Weekend. The establishment offers large comfortable rooms (with good mountain views) that are well decorated with good quality finishings. Our bathroom (with a skylight) was also very spacious with a double basin, double shower and toilet with its own door. The rooms are themed and named according to various types of wild mushrooms and one can see that every detail of this establishment has been well thought through. In the evening the staff would check on us and send us tea, coffee and a slice of cake which was a nice touch. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. It was a rainy weekend so we didn't make it into the pool, but there is also a lovely pool area. This is a small owner run boutique hotel without the infrastructure of larger hotels so there is no dinning on offer in the evenings or spa facility but the intimacy and tranquility and lack of large groups of people make this a good choice for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The owner, Wynand, was very hospitable and helpful and was always at breakfast to greet us and offer whatever assistance he could. We will definitely recommend and return to the Wild Mushroom.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 349 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

Wild Mushroom is an interesting place. We probably had the best room with a mountain view. It is definitely a guest house and probably a bit pricey but if you like mushrooms the breakfast can be fantastic. My wife felt it needed a bit of a woman's touch but the pool is lovely and it's near some fabulous vineyards. Dinner is a drive away so careful with the wine tasting.

Room Tip: The mountain view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bald-EagleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel offers 5-star Stellenbosch accommodation in a gorgeous olive grove and vineyard setting. The entire hotel screams luxury, yet the stuff remain warm and gracious. An absolute must visit if you're travelling through the Western Cape and looking for a boutique hotel with a bit of a gourmet twist. I absolutely loved this hotel!

Room Tip: The Psilocybe room is perfect for couples - very romantic and cosy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrickhullery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt right at home! Glynn showed us to our room, explained all the workings of breakfast to us, gave us a tour of the pool, breakfast room and honesty bar.

Our room, the Deliciousus Suite, was fantastic value for money! Situated on the groundfloor it has a private hallway to the bedroom and ensuite bathroom. Both of these extremely spacious and luxurious! The attention to detail is evident everywhere... From the bathrobes, the water decanter in the room to the turn-down service at night. Luxury and comfort surrounds you wherever you go in this hotel. Our room also had a private door leadings out onto the rose gardens and to the pool area.

A feast for both eyes and tastebuds awaited us for breakfast every morning. The menu changed daily and the serving staff were always friendly and attentive. And even though this hotel does not offer lunches or dinners, Wynand was always ready with suggestions and up to date info regarding the many surrounding wine farms and restaurants. They always offer to make the reservations for you and go out of their way to assist you in any way they can (eg. We needed a wedding suit hire shop and they found one and printed all the info for us).

They are always making sure you have what you need and they honestly give the impression that nothing is too much to ask.

The views of the mountains are breathtaking and one cannot help but unwind while lying by the pool or lounging on the patio as upbeat classical music washes over you through built-in speakers throughout the house.

We shall most definitely be back and we can recommend anybody to stay here when they find themselves in this region...

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed at this Cape Winelands accommodation while travelling through the Western Cape in November last year and have nothing but praise for the staff and facilities.
From day 1, the staff at Wild Mushroom were unbelievably friendly and efficient - going through great lengths to ensure I was always happy and comfortable. I've never experienced such exceptional hospitality. The superb service combined with the excellent 5-star facilities made for a fantastic experience. I'll hopefully be back at this Cape Winelands accommodation later this year for an encore. Thanks to everyone at Wild Mushroom for an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: The Deliciosus room is very spacious and has it's own private patio.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjifaye34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed at the Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel for 3 days in December, and it was undoubtedly one of my best experiences so far. Every room is drenched in elegance and luxury, from the dining areas right through to the rooms and perfectly manicured lawns and olive groves. The staff were super friendly and warm throughout our stay, which is a rare thing to find in 5-star establishments. My favourite part of our stay was definitely the 'mycotourism' experience. I absolutely loved learning about the different kinds of wild mushrooms, and of course tasting them. I would love to stay at this Stellenbosch accommodation again - it's a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aislinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was great!
The place is a little out of town but perfect if you like good views and luxury. The rooms were big, clean and nice! The patio and pool area have amazing views of the surrounding mountains and landscape. Its close to Spier and a few other wineries. Breakfast was very good, nice fresh fruits, cheeses, bread and the eggs Benedict were divine!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,874 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
888 reviews
4.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
623 reviews
8.3 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 113 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
3.6 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel

Address: 39 Digteby Estate | Vlottenburg Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $98 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing