We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to unwind!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
179 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“The perfect place to unwind!”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt right at home! Glynn showed us to our room, explained all the workings of breakfast to us, gave us a tour of the pool, breakfast room and honesty bar.

Our room, the Deliciousus Suite, was fantastic value for money! Situated on the groundfloor it has a private hallway to the bedroom and ensuite bathroom. Both of these extremely spacious and luxurious! The attention to detail is evident everywhere... From the bathrobes, the water decanter in the room to the turn-down service at night. Luxury and comfort surrounds you wherever you go in this hotel. Our room also had a private door leadings out onto the rose gardens and to the pool area.

A feast for both eyes and tastebuds awaited us for breakfast every morning. The menu changed daily and the serving staff were always friendly and attentive. And even though this hotel does not offer lunches or dinners, Wynand was always ready with suggestions and up to date info regarding the many surrounding wine farms and restaurants. They always offer to make the reservations for you and go out of their way to assist you in any way they can (eg. We needed a wedding suit hire shop and they found one and printed all the info for us).

They are always making sure you have what you need and they honestly give the impression that nothing is too much to ask.

The views of the mountains are breathtaking and one cannot help but unwind while lying by the pool or lounging on the patio as upbeat classical music washes over you through built-in speakers throughout the house.

We shall most definitely be back and we can recommend anybody to stay here when they find themselves in this region...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    57
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
244
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed at this Cape Winelands accommodation while travelling through the Western Cape in November last year and have nothing but praise for the staff and facilities.
From day 1, the staff at Wild Mushroom were unbelievably friendly and efficient - going through great lengths to ensure I was always happy and comfortable. I've never experienced such exceptional hospitality. The superb service combined with the excellent 5-star facilities made for a fantastic experience. I'll hopefully be back at this Cape Winelands accommodation later this year for an encore. Thanks to everyone at Wild Mushroom for an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: The Deliciosus room is very spacious and has it's own private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjifaye34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed at the Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel for 3 days in December, and it was undoubtedly one of my best experiences so far. Every room is drenched in elegance and luxury, from the dining areas right through to the rooms and perfectly manicured lawns and olive groves. The staff were super friendly and warm throughout our stay, which is a rare thing to find in 5-star establishments. My favourite part of our stay was definitely the 'mycotourism' experience. I absolutely loved learning about the different kinds of wild mushrooms, and of course tasting them. I would love to stay at this Stellenbosch accommodation again - it's a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aislinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was great!
The place is a little out of town but perfect if you like good views and luxury. The rooms were big, clean and nice! The patio and pool area have amazing views of the surrounding mountains and landscape. Its close to Spier and a few other wineries. Breakfast was very good, nice fresh fruits, cheeses, bread and the eggs Benedict were divine!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

What a marvellous B & B. Very safe and secure in a gated estate, this is a beautifully furnished and quiet place. The rooms are very comfortable, spotlessly clean and with a marvellous bath/shower room (we were in Kalaharituber). The views over the mountains were stunning! The air-con is marvellous and the pool area just fabulous. The breakfasts were really scrumptious and beautifully presented. Centia, one of the staff, was wonderful. The only suggestion to the management would be this: Have you considered a small area off the generous recpetion area where guests could make thier own tea/coffee when staff are off duty? This would be an asset, particularly to the tea addicts! We would recommend this B & B without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroomsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Wild Mushroom is definitely at the top of my list of the best Stellenbosch accommodation. Everything about this hotel is fascinating - from the cellars where they cultivate the mushrooms, to the plush decor in the suites. The close proximity to the Spier wine estate is also a huge bonus!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I booked a "special deal" to stay at the Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel in Stellenbosch for my partner and I, and can only say "Thank You" to the owners and staff for making our stay such a splendid one. On arrival, we were personally met by Wynand, the owner. The decor is fantastic, the rooms spacious, luxurious but not excessive. The set menu for both dinner and breakfast was prepared by Chef Heno, and was superb. The entire theme is around mushrooms, and we even had a short Mycology tour/less (I hope I got the terminolgy correct) wich was very informative, conducted by Dr Smit who really is truly passionate and knowledgeable.......what a novel concept they have...you must check this venue out. Stellenbosch is more than just wine - The Wild Mushroom was a superb experience and I personally recomend it as a unique base from which to explore Stellenbosch and its great beauty - or just to treat your partner to a stunning romantic weekend away!

Room Tip: ask for the Kalahri room - it has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.5 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
4.0 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
4.0 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel

Property: The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
Address: 39 Digteby Estate | Vlottenburg Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing