We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flavours

Flavours
Ranked #77 of 248 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant's focus is on bold flavours; celebrating classic dishes with a difference and fresh, clean tastes. Best described as a concept of food which is essentially simple, yet where flavour always comes first. The menu changes every month to accommodate fresh seasonal produce.Open for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Scenic views of Devon Valley.Children welcome.Sunday lunch's our specialty
Cape Town
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a lovely spot but the buffet lunch was disappointing. The starters were mediocre to say the least. The mains was a typical Sunday lunch, the meat was good and the roast potatoes lovely, the other side dishes however were forgettable. The most disappointing of all was the dessert table. The desserts LOOKED amazing, but turned out to be loaded with cream and nothing much else. Unfortunately, this meal was a great let down as it was recommended by friends. The service on the other hand was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyBCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brillant Food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have returned to the Restaurant for the amazing Sunday Buffet. Each time has been a fantastic experience for all who joined us. The food, service and atmosphere cannot be faulted. Happy friendly and willing service from all, the food caters for all needs and its that typical old fashioned Sunday buffet that keeps you returning for more. Good value for money without a doubt. I would recommend this to anyone without hesitation. Well done to Devon Valley Hotel, Chefs and all those in the restaurant - you do yourselves proud.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Flavours, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Lyndilab

Many thanks fro the time taken to review Flavours!

We are delighted you enjoy our food and service. We have become famous because of our Sunday lunch.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Being the best to being the worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was at this restaurant for my anniversary and it was amazing, best starter I had in ever, so I decided to come again and honestly the worst mistake I made, firstly we made a booking and the guy we made the booking with never wrote it down, order our drinks which took over 15min for a dom pedro, starters came very quickly as it was ordered 5 min after dom pedro and got here before, further the evening went kaboom from there. How can a starter be amazing before and the same starter is ten times smaller and is terrible. Makes me wonder if a good experience should ever be revisited, once should be enough. I would not return very soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Flavours, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Mr Chris V

I am saddened to read your review. We rely heavily on return guests and normally get this right.

Please contact me on andrew@devonvalleyhotel.com or 021 865 2012 as I would like to discuss your experience in more details with you.

Kind Regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
268 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Buffet Sunday lunch at Flavours at Devon Valley Hotel nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Decor and surroundings very good but the buffet lunch was dissapointing. No fish except for mussles which were tasteless. The starter beef was covered in mustard which was a pity. The oxtail and the lamb were superb though. Service was friendly and excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Flavours, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Frank R

Many thanks for your review, I ahve asked the chef to relook at the mussela nd roast beef option.

We agree with you our Oxtail has become famous!

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great food in elegant surroundings served by friendly attentive staff for not a lot of money. Ate here every night during our stay at Devon Valley Hotel and never thought of going anywhere else

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BRASSM0NKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavours also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing