We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST STEAK EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Barrique

Restaurant Barrique
Ranked #49 of 244 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant Barrique opened at Vredenheim in 1998 and is an oasis of traditional cuisine in the heart of the Stellenbosch winelands. This venue is ideal for enjoying our a la carte menu in a Historic Cape Dutch setting surrounded by the Helderberg Mountains. We also specialise in small functions, wedding ceremonies and wedding receptions in the Cellar venue. En-route you will see zebra, gems buck, ostriches and also the pizza chimney smoke lazily above the trees, before you get to the rustic eatery with its indoor "rietdak". This is a friendly, family affair especially on Sundays with families enjoying our food and gardens.
Pietermaritzburg KZN Natal South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“THE BEST STEAK EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have never had a better steak anywhere! The other 3 guests had fish which they all raved about but I don't think it could have topped the steak. Lovely atmosphere on a cold wet winter's night with the fire glowing and comfortable seating. The service was exceptional and friendly even though they were fully booked. The dessert was simply out of this world. Pavlova with caramel and a pear cooked in red wine and home made icecream. It was worth the work I had to do to get rid of those extra calories.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxing venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We first went to Barrique on a friend's recommendation 2 years ago when we had overseas visitors and wanted to take them somewhere special. Some of us had oxtail. The meal was outstanding, good service, relaxed atmosphere, hearty portions and stunning grounds to walk in afterwards. Last December our family from overseas visited again with a special request, "Please may we go to Barrique and can you ensure we have oxtail!" The return visit was just as good. They have travelled all over the world and know good food, so thank you Barrique for consistently providing wonderful food and lasting memories. Please don't ever remove oxtail from your menu!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindyOfficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, hearty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have been going to Barrique for years and again had dinner there this past weekend. It was a terribly cold and rainy night, so what a joy to walk into the cosy dining room and be seated next to the fireplace! We had a wonderful meal, from the deep fried camembert starters to the oxtail and pork belly; it was amazing. Finishing off with a pancake and having a very generous amount of alcohol, it was the perfect antidote to a cold and rainy night. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“oxtail to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

you can never go wrong by choosing this restaurant's oxtail, sometimes you can get lucky with the special including pork belly. it is just enough for the taste to linger, fill your tummy but have enough space for a great desert. the service is great, just lon gor short enough period to enjoy your glass of wine of have a "rest" before the sweets apear

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yvettealbertse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucinda & Greg's Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We recently got married at The Barrique Restaurant at Vredenheim. A big thank you to Karin, Peter, Family and staff for all your amazing efforts to make our day so amazing. The food and service was unbelievable throughout the day! The setting is amazing and interior of the Barrique fantastic. Thank you so much

Helpful?
Thank GregHolmes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Barrique also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Restaurant Barrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing