We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a place to have romantic dinner”
Review of Raphael's

Raphael's
Ranked #135 of 258 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“what a place to have romantic dinner”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

service was second to none. The only restaurant to have a wine waiter and a food waiter to serve my table. The wine waiter offered one white and 3 red wines for tasting, gave me all the time I wanted to compare, before I chose my favorite to drink for the night. Kingklip was glorious here. Shiraz was among the best I'd tried in S Africa.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“If it weren't for the company I was with”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a less than ave experience but have great afternoon with colleagues and some of them better meals. It started by two smoke alarms and all windows and doors opened because of the attempt to get a fire going. I ordered mussels as starter and when I expected it to come out I was informed they do not have any mussels in the kitchen. Then opted for salad which left allot to be desired for as per the picture. My beef steak was one big piece of sinew - even the waitress acknowledged she would not have eaten it. Apparently the mushroom risotto starter was great as well as blue cheese chicken. Lovely setting but that's where it ends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Sophisticated Views"”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Make no mistake the day in Stellenbosch was perfect, not a breath of wind and the view from the restaurant terrace was breath taking.
We were immediately impressed with the clean sophisticated set of the restaurant whether it be the plush purple loungers we passed or sleek caged Harley Davidson at the entrance. The attention to luxury is a definite talking point.
The waitron service was friendly and respectful. The food was clean, tasty and well presented. The Asara Sauvignon Blanc at R85 was a steal. The option of making your dining experience economical or a decant treat is entirely up to you. I enjoyed the variety of single malts on sale at the Sansibar and would recommend this establishment if you were in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mashman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
}���S��
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice view, but no sun and food only OK”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

To be fair to the staff we turned up at Raphael's just after 2.00 pm without a reservation and after checking with the kitchen were shown to a table on the balcony. In-line with the South African aversion to the sun, the balcony is under cover - so shady (and windy), even though the view was great. Service was attentive and quick without initially seeming rushed. Sparkling water soon appeared and a nice bottle of well-cooled sauvignon blanc followed shortly afterwards. Pea and mint risotto with parmesan crisp was a disappointing starter (certainly not in the same league as Bread & Wine) and while the crisp was good the risotto itself was too uniform in taste and consistency to be interesting. The Caprese tomato and buffalo mozzarella salad with pesto was well presented and tasty. For mains we both chose the deep fried calamari were served with a tasty tartar sauce and seasonal salad. The portion size was good but the batter on the calamari was too heavy and detracted from the taste of the seafood. By the time the calamari arrived, we were the only diners left on the balcony so service was over attentive to the point that we felt we were being rushed so staff (there seemed to be plenty of them) could finish their shift. The bill arrived in double quick time and we moved to the deli for coffee - this was brilliant; sheltered from the wind, some warm sunshine, amazing carrot cake to accompany my espresso and as much time as we wanted. Needless to say, we lingered for some time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harrymlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Table with a View!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were staying at the neighbouring Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and they recommended eating at Asara - we were so glad we did. We were given a table outside on the terrace with stunning views - it was a lovely warm evening and the food was fantastic, the service was outstanding and we also tasted the best wine of the holiday - Asara Bell Tower.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F&MScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raphael's also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Raphael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing