We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table with a View!”
Review of Raphael's

Raphael's
Ranked #135 of 258 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Table with a View!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were staying at the neighbouring Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and they recommended eating at Asara - we were so glad we did. We were given a table outside on the terrace with stunning views - it was a lovely warm evening and the food was fantastic, the service was outstanding and we also tasted the best wine of the holiday - Asara Bell Tower.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F&MScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    20
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful!!Do not go here!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

On arrival we were seated at a table infested with ants. We moved to a cleaner table where we were ignored for 35 minutes until we notified the host that we were yet to have a waiter assigned to us. Thereafter, the wine took 25 minutes and 2 orders before it arrived. A 40 minute wait for mains revealed a rare steak despite a medium being ordered, a half eaten bread roll in our basket and no cutlery being presented with our food.The staff were clueless and unhelpful! For these prices one would expect 5 star service. Avoid at all costs!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tessa hanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service is king”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had it not been for the excellent food I would have rated our meal at Raphael's as below average. When we left the restaurant and told the maitre d' of the diabolical service we were informed that 2 of his waiters had not turned up and that it was a student serving us! Well that's not our problem - it's not what we expected from an upmarket hotel. Amongst the blunders: we were given some other patrons' food, totally the wrong bill, had to get up to ask for dessert spoons, never had our wine glasses filled, had to request bread rolls and plates were removed before both diners had finished their meal. We would consider staying at Asara again but will give Raphael's a miss.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A glorious surprise!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We wanted to celebrate, but Sunday lunch seemed out - all the usual favorites were full. A search turned up Raphael's as a possibility - and, yes, they had space for two.

We had known Asara in an earlier incarnation, when it was Verdun, a quixotic old fashioned winery. The gracious entrance up a plane-tree-and-roses lined driveway was very different from the old dirt track. We passed dams full of water after the winter's rains, and the surrounding hills were green vines as far as the eye could see. A new hotel came into view, and signs pointed to "Restaurants" - plural. We parked, and followed the signs until we were in a courtyard with a fountain and no sign of our destination. So we asked at the gift shop, and they pointed us in the right direction. Still no sign of Raphael's, but hallway led towards open doors through which we could see people at tables.

We entered, and a waiter came dashing up - had we booked? Yes we had, he checked, then led us to our table. The restaurant was a large room, with high ceilings accented by two huge chandeliers. The place was full, but the high ceilings made for a low noise level, and even a nearby table of eight children, none of whom could have been older than about 7, disturbed our talk.

A pretty waitress, Patience, appeared. "Water?" Menus, bread and a peppery olive oil and balsamic vinegar to set the taste buds alive. We talked wines - there was pink champagne by the glass, which we needed in order to celebrate, and I ordered a glass of the Asara merlot, which I know and like.

My wife ordered the cauliflower soup of the day and I a hot beetroot salad. The soup arrived in a boat, with light green decoration and some croutons to relieve the creamy texture. It was absolutely delicious, full of cauliflower flavour with just a subtle herbal undertone and enough cream to smoothen but not so much as to drown. The beetroot salad was a marvellous surprise, small beetroot chunks covered with rocket and assorted green herbs, on a bed of goats cheese and with a light dressing round the mound. The tastes mingled in a surprising, clean way.

For the main course, she had the linefish of the day, which was kingklip, on a bed of rice. It was cooked to perfection, and a generous helping of what was clearly a very fresh fish. I had the pork belly, which came nestling on a bed of mashed potatoes, and a slice of apple on each slice of meat. The meat was just right, with a crisp crackling and tender flesh. But the real taste surprise was the apple, which was so full of unusual flavours that at first I wondered what it was. It had been cooked in the rich gravy and had obviously picked up some of the essences. As a whole, it was an unexpected rendition of a classic dish in a way that made it a new classic, and Patience was quite right to have recommended it.

We shared the dessert - a banana souffle that was as light as a feather, and a salted caramel ice cream that was a toffee delight. An espresso coffee and a glass of the Asara Late Harvest wine each, and a memorable luncheon came to a close.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Nutty-Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and excellent service in a stunning setting!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Brilliant food and excellent service in a stunning setting! Be sure to try the impala/venison medallions paired with the Asara Bell Tower - a winning combination! And for dessert, nothing beats the creme brulee!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nakkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raphael's also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Raphael's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing